Tough Decisions!!

I had to face a cold hard truth today… I got a knock on the door this morning by the police… My 18 year old son had been arrested for shop lifting… This is now his 3rd time getting busted shop lifting (within 6 months)… Now after several warnings I am having to follow through on my threat… I informed him after his 2nd time getting busted stealing that if he did it again he would have to move out of my house… I am a woman of my word… So I called my husband to tell him what had happened and he said what I knew he would say… He said “It’s time for him to move out of our house”… So now when he gets home from school I have to inform him that he has til Sunday to find a new place to live… He is 18… It’s time he grows up and faces the consequences of his actions… I also placed a call to my aunt (who he used to live with before coming to live here) so that she might be able to aide him in finding a place cause despite everything I really don’t want him out on the streets… Especially with it being winter… He just can’t stay here any more…

Am I happy about this?!? Hell no… But he has left me little choice… I have 2 other kids I have to think of as well… We already have our hands full with my 17 year old daughter who is bi-polar… She has pulled some crap… Between the suicide attempts, running away, the lies, and the sneaking around  she has done (for 6 years now) we honestly can’t handle much more… So the last thing we needed was for my oldest son to start some crap…

I also have to consider what kind of example he is setting for my 14 year old son with this type of behavior… Plus there is the fact that when he turned 18 he was to get a job and start learning how to become self-sufficient… Which he has not done despite our countless conversations, helpful tips, and numerous warnings…

This is not a good day….

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2018

As tough as it may be for you, this is good parenting. Well done!

January 26, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm Thank you

January 26, 2018

A very difficult decision but

a wise one, hopefully he will see the error of his ways quickly.

January 26, 2018

@mom2dj I hope this wakes him up cause I am out of ideas and options

January 26, 2018

I’m so sorry you going through this. I know how tough this must be for you but only you and your husband know what is best for your family. Your son’s saving grace is, he’s young. He can start over and can still have a great, successful life. Good luck to all of you. You love him. You will do the right thing even if it feels horrible.

January 26, 2018

@dietcokehead Thank you… I try to do the right thing… Even if it’s the hardest thing…

January 26, 2018

@forever-amber We have done all those things and believe me I know how hard it is out there and where it can lead… I been on my own since I was 15 and I am 36 now… I built myself up the hard way as well… I was a problem child and I didn’t learn nor change until I landed on my ass… I wish there was a better solution but we have tried all you suggested and then some… With no luck…