Sucks 2 b poor

Every semester I spend at university I’m getting more and more disheartened and more and more in debt. For the second semester in a row my financial aid was taken away. Last semester because my old school never sent my transcript and this semester because a class I was told counted towards my major actually doesn’t, so I don’t have enough credits. Even being below the poverty line I still only get 2 grand in aid (2 grand for my yearly bill that’s more like 30 grand). But 2,000 is just as unpayable when I don’t have a savings anymore (which is due to my bills for my crushing debt). It’s always been a dream to get a degree. School makes me happy. I’m so jealous of my friends who have their parents paying for school. All I can think about is how the moment I’m not enrolled anymore I’ll have tens of thousands of dollars to pay off. If I can’t repay the aid that was taken away I wont be able to enroll next year, which means I won’t be a student and bam! Pay back the loans immediately, with interest, with no degree. I should’ve just accepted that I’d be a cashier forever 4 years ago. Poor people can’t achieve their dreams, only wish they could.

Log in to write a note
April 1, 2018

I hear you on that. It’s so much more discouraging to be poor than to even be scraping by – to see the advantaged get even MORE advantages. It makes you want to throw in the towel – but you really have no choice other than to persevere, right? So try not to make it harder on yourself by sinking into desolation and bitterness. I gotta tell you, I’ve been there and was there for a great number of years but if you fight through it you WILL get out. If you give up, you’ll have stringy hair and missing teeth and spend your days depressed and standing behind a Walmart customer service desk.