Anime Expo Ends

The four days sure flew by quickly.  I really can’t believe that the first Anime Expo I went to is now over.

For the second half of Anime Expo 2008, I continued to arrive early, in case of traffic and parking problems, then leave earlier than most people.  I don’t know why I wasn’t interested in the programs scheduled in the evening and night.  Maybe I’m too stupid to enjoy them or too lazy to remain for a few more hours.  While most attendees stayed late, I felt exhausted and wanted to drive back to my apartment.

The heat and stuffiness in my apartment kept me awake Wednesday night, July 2, and I managed to get into bed earlier than usual Thursday.  I started on my entry about the first two days at Anime Expo, but had to stop part way and save it as Private, because I felt like fainting and also had a headache.  I felt better Saturday morning, so I finished the entry and changed the setting to Public, took medicine, and headed for AX early again.  By the time some of the panels began, I was feeling a little weak and dizzy again.

At first, I was glad to not find AX crowded as expected for a Saturday, but soon crowds quickly swarmed in, making it hard to walk around.  I explored the areas around LACC a little, but quit because it was too hot outdoors.  Indoors, it was the opposite.  Since Friday, the air conditioning had been too strong, especially in the 300 series meeting rooms and halls.  The other meeting rooms and halls were cold, too so I was freezing during the panels.

It was good to finally meet spwinkles and her friends, kate_andy, midnight_rocket, random_karen, wubear, and others before Traditional Dance.  Unfortunately, during the second half of the workshop, I had to sit out, because my headache returned, with the weakness and dizziness worsening.  The symptoms rapidly became intolerable that I felt like passing out again, so I left the workshop early.

I recalled seeing some people sleeping in corners during the previous days, and managed to find a more hidden and isolated spot to lie down for awhile.  Fortunately, one other person was there, doing the same thing so it wouldn’t seem as odd.  Still, some people walked by, and I felt ashamed and embarrassed though I did feel better after awhile.  I still had a headache, so I took medicine before heading into the Exhibit Hall where I had some boba smoothie until Fanfiction Writing Panel and Workshop.  I left LACC part way through the question and answer session because it was freezing, and I still wasn’t feeling well.

I really apologize for not trying to meet anyone Saturday afternoon and evening.  When I don’t feel well, I don’t want to be around people.  I meant no offense, but my headaches, dizziness, and weakness were getting in the way.

After leaving the LACC parking structure, I decided to drive around the area, looking for dining places I had been informed about.  Unfortunately, I was probably the only idiot who couldn’t find Denny’s or IHOP, because everyone else I talked to, even those who are not from Southern CA, knew where they were.  I also saw other nearby parking lots with cheaper fees.  Argh! How could I have been so stupid and ignorant! If I had known about them Thursday morning, then I could have saved several dollars! I soon stumbled upon 6th St., which was the street of our school’s extension campus, so I decided to head that direction  In Winter 2007, I took a class there, and never knew it was close by, northwest of the LACC.  After letting downtown L.A. make a fool of me, I entered the freeway and returned to my apartment, glad to at least not fall asleep behind the wheel.

I couldn’t do much since I was about to pass out.  That’s why I was in bed much earlier than usual, then got up hours later to add the new friends I met to my LJ account.  I did feel better Sunday morning, July 6, but was still exhausted.  This time, I made sure to bring a jacket.  I parked at a cheaper lot across from South Hall, and walked down Figueroa St.  After looking up the address and location of the Denny’s I heard so much about, I finally found it.  This further proved how dumb I was.  I had passed by it during the previous days, but didn’t see it.

Fortunately, AX wasn’t as crowded as I expected for Sunday.  I enjoyed more origami, then attended Coloring and Screentoning in Photoshop 102.  With discounts, I finally bought something from the Exhibit Hall, then headed for Artist Alley one last time to see _rakugosha_, kuroi_rubyheart, remi_chan, and cruzle again.  I also bought some of remi_chan’s artwork.  While then dramaelf and thiachan also dropped by.

I left LACC a little bit before they closed at 3:00 P.M.  I had some trouble finding my way out of the parking lot, and the exit led to a narrow rundown alley.  I finally understood why the lot was cheaper: more narrow and unsafe, and harder to drive and park.

I took a nap when I returned to my apartment, but I still haven’t quite recovered.  I’m relieved that AX is over, but I also wish it weren’t.  I wanted to look around some more and meet up with people again.

It was good to see yoshikochan, _rakugosha_, dramaelf, and thiachan again.

It was great to finally meet sakura2814 and spwinkles in person.

It was nice meeting kuroi_rubyheart, remi_chan, cruzle, kate_andy, midnight_rocket, random_karen, and
wubear.

I hope to see them all again in the future.  This also goes for those I didn’t meet.

For those I’ve met before, I’m felt really sorry that I didn’t recognize them.  It’s no offense.  I am really bad at remembering and recognizing faces, so if I haven’t seen some people for awhile, or if there is even the slightest change in the face, such as a simple haircut, I can’t recognize the people.

Log in to write a note

Hope you enjoyed the Expo! Despite feeling tired and all the other misgivings.