Anime LA 2012

NOTE: I know this is way overdue, but I’ve just haven’t had time to write about it.  I had also forgotten to post it here a few months ago.

After hearing and reading about Anime Los Angeles (ALA), my interest grew, but the thought of the expensive gas, parking, and admission prices was holding me back.  After being unable to attend on Friday, January 6, 2012 because of work, I finally got out my random Pokemon professor costume that night and set my alarm.

After struggling to get up the following morning, I drove over to the Marriott LAX to find the lot full, so I had to park at another hotel’s lot.  Directions weren’t clear so I had to ask several people before I finally reached the ALA 2012 registration table and paid for the whole weekend since they didn’t have 2-day badges.

I spent some time getting acquainted with the hotel and convention.  It was crowded, but not as crowded, big, or confusing as Anime Expo at the Los Angeles Convention Center.

I first checked out Self-Defense for the Otaku where Jonathan Jake Tarbox brought up some interesting and encouraging points.  That afternoon I missed the Naruto Cosplay Gathering to attend Kunoichi Ninja Skills, which was fun.  Fortunately, the cosplay gathering was still going on after the self-defense lessons, so I caught the end of it.  

During my free time, I explored the Dealer’s Hall and Artist Alley.  Later, another schedule conflict occurred, and I chose the Pokemon Ondo Dance Worrkshop over the Final Fantasy Cosplay Gathering.  It was fun, too, but the dance became confusing.  I left the Marriott LAX after it ended.

I managed to make it to the Hetalia Cosplay Gathering the next morning, happy that I was able to park at the Marriott for Day 3.  Quite a few people arrived late for the gathering as well.  It was good seeing people from previous Hetalia gatherings as well as meeting new people, so I hung out for quite awhile after the cosplay gathering.  Since the hotel wasn’t very big, I ran into the same people several times throughout the day.

I went to the Photo Studio to have my picture taken, then went to the Dealers’ Hall and Artist Alley again.  Unfortunately, I came across a rude and mean-faced vendor at a booth, and she had her eyes glued to one area.  The whole time I was browsing the products, she kept staring at me with that mean and threatening face, making me feel very uncomfortable.

She snapped in a mean and rude voice, "Why do you need to take the picture?"

I answered, "Because I like them." I refrained from complaining, ‘Why do you need to keep staring and stalking with a mean face.’

A few minutes later, some people stopped by to examine the things, and she kept the evil expression on them, too.  When they inquired about the price of some items, she replied with a rude tone.  I saw that she left the work for the booth to the other worker (who was more friendly and approachable) and continued to do nothing but stare at the same area with her mean face.

If she didn’t want people taking pictures, she should have announced, "Please do not take pictures" or place a sign instead of giving vague signals.  Please do not rub in that it’s wrong of me to take pictures of booths and many things, so please do not rub it in.  I can’t help taking pictures of things I like.  Fortunately, that rude, mean-faced vendor didn’t spoil my enjoyment of ALA very much.

After having a good time learning about samurai swords and skills at the Enbukan Battojutsu workshop, I left ALA 2012.  Besides, they were closing and ending soon.

I noticed that it was easier to meet and remember people at ALA than AX.  They also have better services, such as free water, cups, and snacks.  It was less commercialized as well, and I was glad I had decided to check it out.

Log in to write a note