Christmas Rundown (part 1)

 

Mmmmhmmm, you do see that right… TWO EM EFFEN DAYS YO! *backflip twirl dance* I am so excited you just have no idea.

NONE.

Ok, so I have a lot to write about, and I just decided I’d do a nice long entry to catalogue my last few days. Please read if you have the time. If not, that’s ok. I know long entries can seem daunting.

I’m also going to be chronological! *dun dun dunnnn*

Ok, so I’ll start with Christmas Eve:

12/24: Christmas Eve

I took my kids to work. Somehow they ALWAYS manage to make my desk area look like carnage and chaos. it was a total mess. They were shockingly well behaved. I only had a few small issues with Jacob fighting over things that he didn’t want to share, but otherwise they were so good! One of my co workers got them these teeny little hand held games (i saw them for like a buck at wal mart and almost got them for them! ha ha) and that kept them occupied for a while! Then a little boy came over and started to play with them and they got real comfortable and were wandering around the office talking to people. It was cute. I tried to play a dvd for them, but they were way too distracted to care! ha ha. We went to Carls Jr for lunch and I discovered that the one near my job serves BEER. yes… I’ve never seen ANY fast food place serve beer, but there it was, budweiser ON TAP.

ha ha. so funny.

We left work arouned 2 (leaving a trail of doom in our wake ha ha!). My office was thoroughly charmed once again by my heathen bots. We went home and I had to stop at Wal Greens to get my pictures. They came out SO CUTE. I loved them! I also got two more frames and as we were leaving the car parked next to me had it’s keys sitting on the roof. I went back inside to try and tell someone, but it was a total mess, so I just left. I hope I didn’t screw up my karma by not telling someone about it. But jeesh, it was like trying to wade through a sea of idiots.

Anyway, when we got home my house was in total disarray. I didn’t pack the night before like I should have and there was just SO MUCH TO DO. So I was running around losing my mind trying to get everything together and get the pictures for my parents into the frames and wrapped. We ended up leaving an HOUR later than I planned and that sucked because my Step mom had all of these plans for the kids (my brother and his 3 were already there since noon)… so i had to call and tell them to just NOT wait for us because I thought for sure there would be a bunch of traffic and it would suck.

She seemed sad but she said they’d wait a little longer because my brother had to go home and get his presents (he wasn’t gonna stay the night like he originally said, but my dad talked him into it! ha ha!) and so there was a small window of time where they were planning to wait anyway. Well, I took a side road instead of the freeway and realized that the freeway wasn’t crowded at all! So I jumped onto it and zipped up there way faster than I thought (stupid car still didn’t make it quite up the big hill, which sucked *sigh*) and I beat my brother to their house!

Ha ha. He got there a few minutes after me and we ate. The menu was turkey, roast beef, stuffing, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, green bean casserole, greens and gravy with bread rolls. It was delicious! There was also this hot cider and hot cocoa. After dinner the kids made crafts. Little christmas tree ornaments and they decorated these little cloth bags for their "Daddy Claus" toys (cheap stuff my dad throws out while wearing a santa claus hat ha ha). My siblings and I sat in the livingroom talking about Anime’s… ha ha. I guess we are ALL NERDS. It’s awesome. It was nice to have us all together. It felt nice.

Then they got some hot drinks and watched Horton Hears a Who with my step mom. I got some hot cocoa. It was oddly delicious. ha ha. Meanwhile, my brother and sister were wrapping his presents. I was delirious and fell asleep while they were watching The Dark Knight. (My other brother who moved out, Joseph was there. It was sooo nice to see him!)

Anyway, the house was really cute. They have a live tree (they have gotten one for the past 5 years or so) and it was so cute but leaned to the side. ha ha. It looked really nice all lit up and there were cute decorations everywhere.

12/25: Christmas!

I woke up sorta early and the kids were up too. We kept them out of the livingroom so that the remaining toys could be set out and they could all go in together right when it was time. There was a lot of stuff! We sorta got a late start and ate breakfast first. Pancakes, sausage, bacon. MMM! After that it was present time.

First my dad came in with his Daddy Claus outfit (santa hate, red robe, beard made out of a paper towel with a rubber band holding it on he’s so funny)… and my little sister Alyssa was his elf this year! Oh it was adorable. She’s 19. She wore a little elf hat that had "Daddy Claus’s little helper" on it (It originally said Santa, but they covered it with a post it. ha ha, my family is crazy) She put blush on her cheeks in big red circles and pigtails in her hair. She was so cute. I wonder if I can find a picture… Anyway, my dad came out and started handing out his little cheapy toys. that was always so fun when I was a kid. Weird Pic N Save (now Big Lots) stuff… it was fun! It’s fun for the little ones now too. My dad said he’d only do the Daddy Claus when all his grandkids were there… so it’s a treat. He even had a "big peoples" bag and I got a car vaccuum (and you’ll see why that’s sorta funny in a minute) and a cute hat and a few other weird things…

Then we moved on to the big stuff. My brother had to leave fast cuz his ex-wife was gonna get the kids around 11 for her portion of the day. So his kids all opened their gifts first (all the kids got DS’s like mine! ha ha). My kids had to wait and by the time they got done watching their cousins open everything they were in tears and all upset cuz they didn’t get to open anything. I understood where they were coming from, but everyone was telling them to get over it. I thought it was mean and I comforted them and I told them to leave my kids alone. It started a little tiff with me and my step mother cuz she thought I was ganging up on my little sister… but I was telling THEM ALL to leave my kids alone. Including my dad. I don’t get why they can’t udnerstand it might be upsetting to be a kid and just WATCH someone else open up piles of presents. they knew they had stuff, but it would have made ME cry if I had been them. Blah!

But it was soon forgotten when they finally got to open their things and they LOVED their DS’s and the laser tag and clone trooper mask that my dad got them. They were really excited. It made my day. I opened my gifts a little bit after (my dad and mom LOVED the pics! They said it was a good gift from a grown up kid. ha ha) and I got a nice pic from my sister that she drew, some tea… a soft comfy wrap thingy… and my dad got me a $25 gift card for chilis… and ANOTHER VACUUM!ha ha.

Yeah, so now I have a car vac and a home vac. I don’t even have carpets right now. Ha ha. It will come in handy when I move though! I’m a bit confused because I never asked for one (I did ask for a camera though *pout*) but hell, it’s a nice vacuum!

Anyway, after all the presents were opened and things were cleaned we had to make our way into town to visit my grandmother. She was in a convalescent home while my aunt and uncle who usually care for her took a trip to Louisiana to visit the rest of my family. My great aunt was also going to go visit with one of my cousins so we went to pick them up. We thought they were gonna come stay the night with us, but they didn’t. It was hard to see my grandmother (i call her ma-ma) in that bed. She was definitely different. She lit up when she saw my kids though and I think she sorta remembered them, but she said they both had cars and should drive them. She has a baby doll that she thinks is her baby and she told me she was pregnant again. She did remember who I was. At one point my dad was all "You know that’s a doll right?" and she whispered "yes I know, I’m not not crazy"

ha ha. I think she just might be really bored sometimes. But she was definitely different. I’ll be glad when she’s out of there. I don’t like those places. The smell and the atmosphere just makes me feel sad and weird. One of my other aunts was there and she was fussing because she hates that place and the way they care for her. But she didn’t volunteer to take my grandmother, so she should just deal with it. I didn’t like that place either though.

 Anyway, we spent about an hour with her and then went to my brothers for dinner. We had more roast beef, ham, green beans, potatoes (like baked / fried or something), mac and cheese, fresh bread and this yummy cake for dessert. It was a nice time. My dad and brother got into his netflix that he has going thru his xbox and were watching Hercules episodes. ha ha.

We left around 8:30 and my dad was acting all crazy driving on the wrong side of the road cuz he was tired. So my mom ended up driving.

I think I passed out pretty quick when we got home and so did my kids.

I think I’ll end this entry here and write the rest later. I also want to read some favs!

it gets more interesting starting from last night.

Baboo is a nutball with nuts on top. 

But strangely cuddley.

cuddly?

oh whatever.

TWO DAYS!!!!

I’ll be back! 

Log in to write a note

glad you had a great holiday!!!! hehe, so cute that your grammy is prego, lol! i love loopy old people =] i can’t wait for josh to be all strangely cuddly when he comes home. =]

December 29, 2008

Sounds like a great time – I’m so happy for you!! =D

Sounds like an awesome Christmas! Glad you had a such a good time! We watched the Dark Night too, lol.