In an Instant

I was driving home last night from work, planning ahead for the evening. I was going to go and watch my niece play basketball and work. It had been a long week with the allergies that come from this beautiful weather and I needed a little R&R time. I love my drive home. It is half freeway and half country road. The country road is soothing to me with the farm animals along the route and just the scenery.

I have a different picture of it after last night.

With two lane roads come accidents and never small ones. That is a scary aspect of it but I don’t worry. Last night, I got stuck in some traffic and approached sirens and an accident. It was clearly a head on. We were all turned around because the road was closed due to a death. So sad. in the process of turning around, I got stuck in even more traffic and finally a woman turned back around. She told everyone that a big rig had attempted to turn around somehow, pinning himself between the two ditches that bordered the road. We were blocked in both ways. Most people just parked and wandered down the road to see the truck or just talk among themselves. It wasn’t a terrible mood even though I know we were all thinking about the accident that stopped us to begin with. I was thinking about the person that died just going home from work, living their life.

On a side note, I lost a friend and her baby girl to a drunk driver in 1994, so fatal accidents bother me to begin with. Add the fact that I have been in some pretty scary accidents myself and last night was bound to get to me. It was going to take a long time to get out of there and they finally had trucks and SUVs pull behind the big rig onto the side of the road and then up a small hill to get back to the road. It was terrifying because I was certain I was going to slide right back down!

As expected, it took forever to get home from there because every other route was full of cars. I left work at four and got home at seven thirty. I was exhausted and ended up going to sleep early, though I didn’t sleep great. Between the shootings and last night, I was mentally drained.

I got up this morning and met my daughter’s friend and mom at the gym. That was nice because she was occupied and having fun while I could focus on what I needed to do. I love the gym but I have a hard time finding the time to go. That being said, it makes me feel better in so many ways and I like his mom. I don’t say that too often about other parents.

I have had a headache all day from allergies, I suppose. I napped after the gym before writing and I could go back to sleep now.

My client LOVED the presentation that I wrote her. I spoke to her today and she had a great response to it, so I suppose I can add that to my resume.

 

Log in to write a note
February 20, 2018

I love the gym as well but I have a hard time getting myself to go… But once I am there I am all good…