Not Young Any More

I am a fool.

I had an amazing meeting with my client yesterday. I am terrified to write her speech but I respect a person that’s been through shit and grown from it. She certainly has. She was incredibly positive and into all that kind of healing I am fascinated with. I think it’s funny how things come along when you need them. I think I have been in some sort of spiritual awakening for the last five years, at least. I am nowhere near the end. She seems to see the good in me and I know it’s in there somewhere.

I left with the cash she gave me up front, which was too much in my opinion. I went and bought Valentine’s Day stuff for hubby and daughter with it. I haven’t done that in a long time but I was in the mood yesterday.

When I picked up the teenager at the mall, I went and got a coffee. Not just any coffee. I reverted back to my twenties and ordered this thing at Dutch Bros that had six shots of espresso in it. I didn’t sleep at all last night and only got a few hours the night before. I was exhausted today that way that any normal forty six year old would be. I came home and coma napped for a few hours before I hit the keyboard again.

I am not drinking coffee for a while. My stomach hated me all day and I just sipped water and tea as I hoped to feel normal again.

I am keeping up on projects for the most part and bringing in some money. That is my goal right now and I feel good being productive. There is a kind of tired that comes along with it more so than not leaving my bed due to depression. I feel good even if I have trouble keeping my eyes open all day. I can’t to take it a little easier this weekend and maybe do some thrift shopping, maybe sleep a bit. I wrote about 50k words this last weekend and that kills your brain in a way that few things do.

 

Log in to write a note
February 14, 2018

Holy hell! 6 shots of espresso is insane! Your client sounds interesting & I hear you with the depression. *hugs* Found you on the front page, by the way!

February 14, 2018

@pulchritude Thanks for the note. I don’t think that I fully understood just how much that was. I was merely in work mode but I might literally never drink coffee again.

February 14, 2018

SIX SHOTS?? Do you have a death wish?!

(also I’m sick and twisted enough to now want to try six shots of espresso, just to see what happens)

February 14, 2018

@josephineroberto It would appear that I do. I am still recovering from that. I was a woman on a mission though and it was accomplished… even if I did feel like death the next day.

February 14, 2018

Jezz. I knew what I wanted to say – then scrolled down to make sure that anyone below hadn’t already said it. They both have! So here goes anyway!

SIX SHOTS!

That would seriously kill me dead!

Do you really feel that writing 50K words kills your brain? I always feel so very much more alive after writing. BUT… I’m not doing it for a paycheck.

February 14, 2018

@petersshadow I was a mess and still am in some ways.

As far as the writing, I love it more than anything. I’m just stupid and procrastinate, making myself write an entire book in a weekend. This is on top of my full-time job during the week, family, etc. It is well worth the cash and there is always another story buried inside. 🙂

February 15, 2018

@charlotte_sometimes An entire book in a weekend? Isn’t that something! I’ve been working on the same story for the better part of 20 years! But I’m not a writer, it’s just for fun. Horrible, unsellable. But fun.

February 15, 2018

@petersshadow I am a ghostwriter by trade for job 2. My heart and soul do not go into these stories as they would my own, but it is never fun to come up with everything that quickly. 😉