Chronic Illness…

IHello, everyone. I can certainly deal with the idea of chronic illnesses. I have a plethora of them, number one with a bullet being depression and anxiety. I have had these diagnoses since I was 26 years old. I am now 61. Perhaps that explains the road that I have been on in my life, those diagnoses, plus making poor choices. At age 61, I can honestly say that I am making much better choices. I can see possible outcomes and “red flags” with much greater clarity, if you will. After awhile, you learn that “Hey, this would be a really bad idea”. Or, “This simply would not work”. These stem from past mistakes that I have made.

Getting back to chronic illnesses….I have severe chronic obstructive sleep apnea. I am on a c-pap machine, at night and have had numerous sleep studies. It truly is severe. I have been a very loud snorer since I was a child. I stop breathing while sleeping, hence the use of the c-pap machine.

I am a type 2 diabetic. My a1c’s are usually excellent. I am looking into getting a pair of diabetic shoes through my insurance. I am not a “sweet-aholic”. That helps. I have been type 2 since I was in my 30s.

I have hyperlipidemia. I am on Simvastatin. I have hypertension (controlled). I take Indapamide and Benacar.

I have had Bipolar 1 Disorder for many years. It is controlled very well with Vraylar and Gabapentin.

I have chronic gastrointestinal disorders, which are controlled with Aprivo, Pentoprazole, Carafate and Cholestyramine.

The list goes on……

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2022

Holy wow! We have many of the same medical issues, and take many of the same medications. I’m 55, and I was diagnosed with BPD in 1999. Been on disability since then, too. I still can’t work a regular brick and mortar job.

January 11, 2022

Carina, my heart goes out to you. You probably feel overwhelmed at times, not unlike myself. Take care and thank you for the friend request. 🙂

February 4, 2022

I am 58 and was hypertensive since I was 40.  I had a stroke 9 years ago leaving me semi-paralyzed on my left limbs.  Since then, from being bedridden for almost a year, I was able to walk now with a cane but was forced to retire from office work since it was quite difficult coming to the office anymore.  Although my BP was  controlled with just losartan’s dosage down to 50mg daily from a much higher dosage.  I still cannot risk myself going back to office work and opted to do freelancing online jobs at home to keep my mind busy.  With the help of a friend, I ran an indoor playground business for kids here in our area before the pandemic.  But needed to close it when stringent pandemic measures were imposed in our area.  I still do online freelancing though scarce since I can only do light jobs having only one-abled hand typing and doing everything.  Extra care because since I have a comorbidity and can easily contact this nasty virus of the pandemic.  I limit outside roams only to necessary and urgent.  Not afraid of getting sick since I already had this disease but I truly miss the outside world and travelling.

June 14, 2022

@whyzee God bless you. It sounds as if you have been through the mill.