Of Chronic Illness

                                                          I was in the hospital about a month ago for major depression. The doctor increased my Abilify from 15 mg. to 20 mg.  He increased my Wellbutrin from 300mg. to 450 mg. I am socializing more, my hygiene is better and I have a renewed interest in things, in general. 

                    The hospital is not a fun place to be, let me tell you. Everyone is there to recognize and work on their mental health issues or else they are dealing w/ a substance abuse addiction. No smoking was allowed, but they would give you a nicotine patc, if requested. You were expected to shower every day. It was a unisex shower, one person at a time. For some reason it was very cold on the unit. You were expected to be present for all meals and groups. I was the oldest one on the unit. The staff was excellent.

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2022

You had a rough time of it. I think you’re doing great!

I love my Abilify shots. I am not as withdrawn… nor am I sad or anything.. nope. Being in the hospital isn’t fun… esp with Covid?? Yikes!!!

June 21, 2022

I am on Abilify and it has worked wonders for me.  My doctor tried taking me off it a few months back and I crashed, hard.  I was so SO sad and depressed and could not pull out of it.  So, she put me back on it and I am fine now.  It’s a great medication.

I am glad you are doing and feeling better.  I know how good that feels.

June 22, 2022

@happyathome I am so glad that the Abilify is working for you. They prescribe it for me for depression that is hard to treat. It works quite well for me. Before they prescribed Abilify I was very depressed and was having crying spells. A therapist from a long time ago referred to it as the “kicker” medication, and I can see where she was coming from.

June 22, 2022

@chipchocolate I was very depressed too, so much so that it scared me.  I can see where she is coming from too because it sure did the job for me.  It worked fast, too.