Sunday Afternoon

                                                        After I finished cooking the hard-boiled eggs for the tuna salad, I went outside to the paper box to see if there were any Sunday newspapers left from yesterday’s delivery. I have an 8-week subscription to the local newspaper. When I got back, I heard from Bear. Apparently, something was going on with his roommate. Bear told me that he had been receiving extra care from the nurses and aides. The family had been in to see his roommate. They then wheeled his roommate out of Bear’s room. I guess Bear asked the aide if he had passed, but he had not. Perhaps he was being sent out to the hospital. 

                     I read the Sunday paper, after which I cut out all of the crossword puzzles in the paper, sealed them in an envelope, and put them under the door of a tenant in the building who likes to work puzzles in her spare time. I also knocked on Eddie’s door to let him know that his tuna salad was ready, but he did not answer his door. I went back to my apartment and wrote a note to him, letting him know that it was ready, then put the note under his door. Another tenant had been hospitalized. They sent her home with a colostomy bag. I put a get well card under her door. After all of that, I read some of my textbook. I finished the chapter which ended with the care of babies and children. I also read the chapters on hospice care and death and dying. It will not be long before I am finished with my course. 

                After I finished reading, I put a movie on. It was “About Last Night” with Rob Lowe, Demi Moore and Jim Belushi. I love music and movies from the 80s, when I was still relatively young. I was only in my twenties. I have lots of great memories of those years, working as a nurse and being a single mom. 

                 I washed all of the bowls, pots plates and utensils that I used to cook. That is out of the way. For the rest of the afternoon, I am going to relax. 🙂

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2022

I’m glad you are doing better today. You are the kindest woman I ever met I love ypu

July 3, 2022

@bear70 Thank you, Bear70. I had a peaceful day.