Mom Happy birthday to you !

   A month ago S.Y told me not to forget having Mon 70th birthday party at her home. I could not imagine how I got older at this time. We went out at 9:30 and got mom home. There were nephews who came yesterday with their grandma. When I got inside, Mom had breakfast at late morning. I was so sorry about why she had a brief breakfast with one dish and one soup, even today was her birthday. I asked her why and reason. She said “it is very convenient to eat with small side dishes for me.” I know mom life style is much different than other aged moms. As first son, I was so depressed. She already told us not to prepare and book any restaurant for her but she prepared all foods for her adult and grand children.

 In Korea when senior person’ anniversary close, their children invite and buy the foods they haven’t tried at luxury buffets and restaurants with relatives and close friends. Mom still insists it is useless to spend money for her. Instead having her birthday party outside, we gave her cash amounted to $2,000. Around noon, brother and his wife could not appear. We could not wait for them and then had lunch. While I had lunch, I took pictures from the food Mom prepared. At 1:30 Brother came up with his sister-in-law. It was rare to take sister-in-law at Mom home. They brought the anniversary cakes to celebrate mom’ 70th birthday. We all gathered to sing and lit candles on the cake and then turned light off. Her grand sons and daughter said, Grandma Happy Birthday to you.

Log in to write a note

hey happy birthday to your mum from me too:)>..give her a hug…my mum is so far from me..7 seas away ..i miss her so much..hope one day i will meet her..anyway.take care..smile always!

November 25, 2007

Thank you for all the notes you’ve left me. I enjoyed reading about your mother’s birthday; fun to read about customs from other countries.