The Road will always get its lick-back

We as humans take our roads for granted. We leave them to rot, destroy, and get bad. We dont clean the sand and debris off and we leave litter all around. But, yesterday, I learned to respect the road as me and my boyfriend both got some of our skin ripped away from our body by a road that hasn’t been taken care of. We just got my boyfriends Kawasaki ZX9 fixed up after months and months. He got into an accient around april of last year and we had been fixing it up from that.

Well, my boyfriend took it on two rides around the neighborhood and then i jumped up on the back after he came back with no issues. My brother (Who also rides) was riding behind us, and we were going about 10-15 miles an hour when we went over some sand. Seconds later the back tire slipped out from under the bike and we came crashing down. We were both wearing helmets. I immediately got up and was screaming out of fear and pain, and my boyfriend (Who mind you was the driver) kept asking me if i was okay.

I freaked out when my boyfriend started getting dizzy from the adreniline and told my brother to call an ambulance. My boyfriend said no and that it was just from the adreniline, and then i called my mom to come pick me up. She picked me up, we went to the hospital with my boyfriend following a few minutes behind. I got to the hospital and they took care of us. Got us head CTs, xrays, and got the road taken out of us (10/10 dont recommend) My palm, top of wrist, back of thighs, shoulder, tips of my fingers, and knee got road rash. My boyfriend has road rash on his knee, shoulder, elbow, and his stomach.

Were both in a pretty intense amount of pain and we took our pain meds not long ago and were about to go to bed. Goodnight.

Log in to write a note
March 12, 2023

Sounds scary. Glad you were wearing your helmets and no serious injuries occurred.  <3

March 12, 2023

@celestialflutter it was definitely scary. And we’re all just happy that we made it out with no serious injuries. Honestly I don’t even think I have processed the whole thing yet.