Attorney Advice

So this is the 4-1-1, I was suspended from work back in the middle of August and I finally met with HR about a week or two ago. I was told that if I did not resign that I would be terminated. Now I am just toying with the idea about seeking legal advice because I think I have a case and who wouldn’t want to sue a multi-million dollar company and win?

Okay so I transferred jobs within the same organization back in March, 2 months later I am written up and given a warning letter and 2 months after that in July I am given a counseling memo. First of all, 2 months into any job one is still learning the ins and outs and what not. 2nd of all, if I do something wrong it would make sense to make me aware then tell me how to rectify the situation. I still haven’t seen my Job Description (JD) 6 months into the job and now I am being forced to resign my position. That’s bull and I don’t know if I have a case. I think its because when I started I didn’t really hang out with the other people I worked with and I didn’t dress like them. I am more trendy (I work in a Dr. Office so I don’t think scrubs, when I am not a Dr. or nurse is appropriate.) Anyhow, I was friendly but not very buddy-buddy with them b/c I think it takes time to learn the office culture and figure out who to talk to and who not to. So from my first month there my supervisor kept saying it wasn’t a good fit. Then he wrote me up. Talk about DRAMA. Now I’m ready to sue because the’ve written a lot of crap about me in my file and now when I look for other employment within the same organization, no one will hire me. This all falls back on my JD because I should have been told from day 1 what my job is and how certain situations are handled.

Log in to write a note
October 12, 2006

I’m no lawyer or anything, but make sure the job description wasn’t posted anywhere first. I never formally got a job description when I was working, but I don’t think they had to give me one if it was posted on the job board or whatnot. Goodluck. BTW, if you think you are going to find another job easily, resign. If not, maybe let them terminate your position so that you can receive unemployment?

October 15, 2006

Isn’t a warning letter letting you know you are doing something wrong? Also, it is best to talk to everyone. Don’t wait until you know people to talk to them.I don’t think they can fire you for not fitting in.However, if they have proof saying you did something wrong, have been warned etc, I am not sure you would have a case.But this is why I am not a lawyer, you should check into it

November 7, 2006

try looking under harrassment in the work environment, you may be surprised to find that it carries a broad spectrum of issues within that one term….-Peace.-