18/10/20

I’ve just watched The trial of the Chicago 8, and am left feeling simultaniously fired up and deflated. It’s always the same when I’m watching films like this, or after reading books, articles etc. I wish I’d been born in the 60’s, in America- I don’t think the movement was as massive here although I may be so wrong about that. I always associate the 60’s, counter revolution etc to have happened firstly and foremost in the USA. I know that there is still the same momentum now, I know that to simply say I wish I was born in the 60’s is a cop-out, I know that all I bloody need to do to get me moving is spend a day doing some research, spend a day doing the reading, doing some reading, and then making some contacts, writing some emails, reaching out. This film has put a fire under me, it really has and this will be the week where I begin doing those things. There’s definitely a sense of defeatism about my inaction, and a sense of weary apathy, and then once that starts a practise of beating myself up. No more. That dream that I have, of being able to do something which matters, of being a part of the things which I perceive as being important, which are important- lol I do still understand how important they are- is still alive. I think I need to ensure that I watch more films like this, keep chasing the things I know will fire me up.

Short article here, I may come back to it later but right now that’s all I got.

Log in to write a note
Jon
October 18, 2020

I grew up in the sixties here in the U.S. and it was a tumultuous time. I don’t think I’d be the person I am today had I not experienced first-hand what those days were like. Now, we are going through something similar. I worry that things are going to get worse before they get better. We have not had the leadership we need to carry us through the pandemic. And though there have been some violent protests, they seem small to those of the sixties. Still, I’m fired up and hope we elect new leaders on November 3rd.

October 20, 2020

@kotila Yes- watching this film really hammered home how similar times are in some respects. I can’t help but feel sad that these issues are still the same, that progress has been less than one feels it should be. Why is it that people must fight for such basic rights?- I just don’t understand the mentality of the people on the other side, and moreover I don’t understand how someone like Trump could have ever made his way into the Whitehouse. Doesn’t seem possible, and yet it happened. Yes, I am the same as you- hoping and praying that change will come in November. Keep the faith!!

October 18, 2020

I was born in the ’60s. It was pretty much an oblivious time. To be involved in the good stuff you would have had to be born in the ’30s or ’40s. There’s no time on earth somebody couldn’t have done better. I think being around when the beats were young might have been cool but I wouldn’t have today’s sensitivities. If I had I probably would have been reading a lot of ignorant fools the riot act and punching people who patted me on the head and told me I was cute when I got mad.

October 20, 2020

@tunguska Yes I would have loved to be alive and young at that time as well!! It always seems as though there was so much more energy within eras from the past, but as you say the truth is that things are the same now- in that there are still TOO MANY issues which need to be fought for. I hope that over the next few months i can harness by energy and my enthusiasm and channel it into positive behaviours and practises. Live in hope 🙂