Little Dog

My little dog has an appointment with the vet tomorrow. Last time she wasn’t feeling well was a complete farce. I had just had surgery on my cervical spine. I was home from the hospital for about 5 days when the dog started walking with a hunch in her back, just like a scared cat. I was really worried that she had hurt herself jumping off the bed. So, to the vet we went, me driving slowly and carefully trying to avoid any bumps that might have caused either of us pain, and her in her car seat watching out the window.

She acted completely, absolutely normal at the vet. Luckily, I had recorded the hunched walk and her crying in pain. They did x-rays, but found nothing, so they sent us home with pain medication. She was fine for two days, then started again with crying and hunching. I took her back to the vet, where again, she was completely normal while there. The vet checked her out and just couldn’t figure out what was going on. That was until she noticed the bandage on my neck.

“What happened to you,” she asked.

I told her about the surgery, we discussed my pain level and my recovery. Then, with a sly little smile, she told me she thought Lulu was sympathizing with me and showing me what my hurt feels like to her. The little faker scared the crap out of me! This time it’s nothing serious and she’s definitely not faking, I hope.

Log in to write a note
October 24, 2022

Aw, what a doll!  So cute!  I hope all is ok.

October 24, 2022

Adorable! Dogs definitely sympathize. They also manipulate.  My shepherd used to pick on my lab until the lab lost her mind and bit him. He wasn’t hurt. No blood. But he would look at us and limp around for a few minutes.  Rather than sympathizing, he wanted the sympathy.