My Husband’s Best Friend

Mo is an outgoing, always talking, always on kind of guy. His energy is over the top, you never know what shenanigans Mo will be up to next, and that can easily wear on me. My husband and I are quite the opposite. We are calm, deliberate planners of the future, thinkers of outcomes, and quiet, so quiet. In short, Mo annoys me to no end. But, you know what, I love Mo. I love him for his undying absolute love for my husband.

They met close to 20 years ago. Both immigrants, my husband from Australia and Mo from Saudi. They are opposites in upbringing, religion, cultures, and in so many other ways. IBM had opened a service center in our small town and so the two found each other. My husband, an expert in his field, and Mo, well, let’s just say he was an IT guy who didn’t own a computer.  Hubby took the lively little guy and taught him everything he needed to know to succeed at the job and earned himself the most devoted friend I have ever encountered. As for me, I finally know what a real friendship looks like.

 

Log in to write a note