Aussie Bouncer

I am writing this from Australia! I am in Melbourne for a festival, and I am so fucking wiped. We just got here this morning after being on a 15 hour flight. It’s still yesterday in Toronto. Or maybe just after midnight. SO weird.

We felt pretty good when we got here (we is my friend Ricky and I) and we dropped off our luggage at the hostel and then went for a walk to the beach. Ricky almost picked up a jellyfish and died ha ha. OMG we actually saw a mob of kangaroos when we were coming in from the airport, just hanging out! And the countryside looks fascinating, I want to get out there more. Next week we get a car and get to drive around.

The cars are on the opposite side of the road here. We got transit passes for our time in Melbourne before we hit the road. The festival I am attending starts tonight. I am so fucking wiped and Ricky just went to sleep and it is only 4pm. I’m gonna power through until it’s Australian bedtime.

We traveled for so long. All the way from Toronto to Chicago to Los Angeles to here. Like two days of traveling practically. OMG. Anyway, we made it. We’re so tired.

We went for a walk along the pier to a restaurant where I got a kangaroo burger called “Aussie Bouncer”. It was very strong meat. Like distinctive. But also difficult to place because it had condiments and things with it. So anyway, it’s like, I have been talking for months about wanting to eat kangaroo and now I finally have and where do I go from here? Ha ha. Anyway yeah…

I miss Jessie in a stupid shitty way. I miss being able to send her messages about what I am doing. I know it’s good we aren’t messaging though. Especially since it seemed to make her care less for me anyway. Maybe I was just annoying her that whole time. Ugh.

I sent an email to Flippy Top letting her know when I am back in town. I don’t know, maybe she gave up on me.

I feel torn about dating, I don’t want to NEED it, but I know I WANT it. And also, maybe the person I am meant to be with isn’t even on my radar.

Australia is awesome though. I finally had a shower and changed my clothes and I’m so fucking tired. I know after a good sleep I’ll be ready for anything. I’m resisting. It’s 4:07pm here. I could have a nap I guess. We don’t have to leave until 6:30.

I wish I could get Jessie to have an honest conversation with me, but she is so adamant about getting defensive and shutting it down any time I try to bring things up. Anyway, I still haven’t texted her since, or emailed her. And she doesn’t like or comment on any of my stuff. She’s such a fucking baby. And she seems hostile in those ways towards me, but then will give me these melty intimate hugs. Ugh. Drives me nuts. I hope the woman I do end up with has some consistency. I don’t want this kind of random bullshit.

Anyway I am gonna cave and have a snooze before we go out. There is no way I can NOT sleep right now. Just a nap. I’ll set my alarm. It will be okay!

Log in to write a note
November 8, 2018

Have a good time in Australia – the people there are so nice! I’ve never been to Melbourne, but people who go to Australia a lot say that is the best city to visit.

November 9, 2018

@thediarymaster Thank you! I love it so far!

November 8, 2018

My parents went to Austrailia a while ago and said it was a beautiful place but they didn’t see any kangaroos.  Enjoy your time there and I hope the weather is nice and warm.

November 9, 2018

@jaythesmartone its been overcast but the sun just came out! 🙂