No One Cares!

OMG there was a terror attack here in the downtown core at a place my friend Ricky and I were at just a couple of hours before. A man drove a ute (car/truck hybrid) full of gas canisters into a store front and then while that was burning ran around stabbing people. We didn’t know anything about it until later when we took the tram to Flinders Street and our stop was the last for all the people on that line, because they locked down a portion of downtown. Anyway people kind of grumbled about it, but no one seemed very concerned. When Ricky and I were on the train going to the festival we looked up the incident and found out what happened. We both gasped when we found out a Ute was burning because Ricky has been talking about how much she wants one since we got here.

Anyway, it’s been fine, we were fine anyway. Someone died and the terror suspect was killed as well. Australia has strict gun laws, so I think that probably minimized what could have happened. I’m glad we got tired and went back to the hostel.

But it’s weird, no one here cares. It reminds me of being in London during an attack and how no one cared there either. And all my friends and family in North America are basically asleep right now, so none of them know we had a close call. So right now it feels like no one cares and for a while Ricky and I just kind of looked like Beaker doing frantic meeping. Anyway, life is okay. We are okay.

I think it will be life as usual though for the rest of the time we are here. Anyway it’s almost midnight here and I am super sleepy and I just wanted people to know I am ok.

Log in to write a note
November 9, 2018

Evendently there was a mass murder somewhere in the USA the other day too…It’s all over the world and people just don’t seem to care….I hate guns and think there should be none but I know some Americans think they look so cool with their guns…..

November 9, 2018

Glad to hear you are safe! How scary that must have been.