Do you even math, bro?

So, I was running this test in which I sent out some targeted advertising of a post in which a soldier talked of being flown home from the war to bury his son, and his eventual disillusionment when he found out the war was maybe not really as honorable as they had spun.

The test is to see how many laugh emojis I get.  I expected about 17%, all male.  I did this test because I noticed some people started getting mad at me for not wanting their simple thank you any more than I wanted simple hopes and prayers.  We are men of action.  But we are also men of emotion, and we wanted to see how many still ridicule a man willing to express pain.

The test was pretty successful, sadly, because it gave me data to support a further downtick in what I already think is a difficult hill to climb back up, in a society.  Part of me thinks no problem, do us good to have a little societal collapse.  But still, I like Bosch, and I want to see what they do with the series.  So no Armageddon yet, please.

 

BUT….

The funny part, oh shit yeah, one must laugh.  The theory is that there are different types of meaning in every frame of reference and the true platinum level finisher finds all the meanings in all the memories like a cosmic game of where’s waldo.  So I laugh, it was the first thing we figured out that worked every time.

But some of the guys who laughed weren’t satisfied to laugh, they wanted to show off.  So one guy told me how I had wasted my advertising dollars to send it to him because after he had read it four times he thought it was a bunch of garbage.  He read it four times.  That is a pretty good return on a small investment.

It takes the sting out of humanity being about 1/5th assholes, you know, that they are also so often incredibly stupid and fun to watch.

 

Log in to write a note