What is this culture of which you speak?

In response to a post in which we related the death of our son, and our subsequent return from a war that the culture made us fight because people were scared, not because it needed to be fought.  This is an unjustified use of force at the highest level.  But we did not know, for we believed the lies.

We have a page on Facebook called The Culture is a Lie; we cannot link it here because we are cheap and do not have a paid account here.  But it is the firstart of a plan to expand into the virtual space and there begin to create a visual information storage and retrieval system.  That is for another day.  This post I decided to promote, as it is a new page and we have burned my contact list to the ground to escape the trappings of our history best we could.

A man asks, in response to my assertion that I will fall into an 8-bit pixelated reality of my own creation before I embrace their hi def bullshit culture ever again.  It was my declaration of war.  It is time to show what a true culture war can look like when prosecuted by thinking people who are unafraid of their past.  The man asks what is this culture of which I speak


The culture that inoculates people against the shame of laughing at a man who is relating the loss of his son during a time for which these same people who laugh at his pain would have thanked him for his service.
The culture is at fault, but they identify with it so much that they feel attacked. If we can fix the culture, we have to get people to understand they are not part of it, but that they are influenced by it. It is not their fault yesterday,perhaps, but we should start to hold them accountable in the future for not evolving, we think.
It is not my fault perhaps if at four I believe in Santa, for I was lied to. But if I propagate those lies, I am at fault.
Lies can never be justified. But, all consciousness is first a collection of experiences, ad those experiences can not be judged, for they were not chosen, merely experienced.
Western, dominator, patriarchal culture. The culture that taught women they were dirty for having menstruation, the culture that says that it is ok to fight and bully because life is not fair.
Life can be fair, if we start holding people accountable for the way they act, and if we understand that the way they believe will affect the way they act, and so it is not occurring in a vacuum.
If we can make it normalized for people to have to try and understand WHY they do something, we will ave come far.
Log in to write a note