Freak out!

I had a doctors appointment yesterday.

I was extremely anxious as I always get.

The nurse sits me down for my vitals. I knew my blood pressure was high as it has been for awhile. But never high enough for pills.

I’m sitting there the blood pressure machine starts than stops than starts back up again. I see the nurse get wide eyed but she didn’t say anything just that she was going to manually take it.

So she called me back into the room does that then goes to get my doctor. She comes in like a hurricane saying I need blood pressure meds. I asked her how high it was I about fell out of my chair.

Hopefully these pills lower it because that’s scary high. She did my blood work however I won’t get those results until whenever the labs come back.

I’m hoping it’s just stress and nothing major. I mean hell I’ve been under a tremendous amount of stress with work.

Also having a 19 year old doesn’t exactly make one calm.

I have a follow up in a couple weeks as she said she will probably have to add another blood pressure med to the one she has me on.

She also said she was going to do an EKG then. I asked her why and she said just to check everything out.

Needless to say as much as I truly love my doctor. She is stressing me out.

I also mentioned my weight gain which she waved off and said it was probably from winter. She wasn’t worried about it. I am! I’m heavier now than I’ve ever been in my life.

She did say the BP meds might help me lose a few pounds because I’ll start to feel better.

Here’s hoping health problems are scary as hell.

Until next time…

Monika

 

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2018

Been there. My blood pressure was running, at its highest, 190/88, I think. It had been higher (than normal for me) for several visits, but nothing was said. When it skyrocketed, I was put on pills instantly. What did your doc give you for your BP? Hopefully it’ll be just the one med, and it will come down between now and then, AND you’ll be able to alleviate some home / work stress.

May 22, 2018

@wayward_woman yep mine was 190/95. She put me on hydrochlorothiazide she started me out on the lowest dose. Incase I had a reaction or something to it. I took it this morning and aside from having to pee every 5 seconds I have not had anything. I kept thinking my headaches were coming from allergies but she said it was BP. I still have a headache again today she said it would take a couple weeks to kick in. What are you on? Has it lowered your BP?

May 22, 2018

@dancingthrough  I’m on Lisinopril, I think 10mg daily. It brought my BP down to (more) normal within the first few months. I, too, had headaches and fatigue and was just flat out crappy. I feel better now, but I STILL have the Ace Cough, which is terrible. 🙁 I hope your med doesn’t cause any other side-effects, and WORKS!

May 22, 2018

My husband was having issues with high BP at doctor visits, but then they figured out that it was the anxiety of being at the doctor causing it (they were having him check at home, too). He was on medicine for a short while but is off now with no further issue.

Hopefully yours is nothing serious. Good luck!

May 22, 2018

Yikes! I hope the pills help you.
I think something is in the air. Mine was a bit high in April and they made me get a bp machine and send the results via computer. I had lost my fitbit just before they took my vitals and I was all stressed out as hell. Now it’s back down to what she felt was okay.