Late night ramblings

I attended a baby shower yesterday.

Why are women so unkind to each other. Why can’t we just lift each other up?

Just one of the few conversations I heard.

Woman: Are you going to breast feed?

Mom to be: No, I don’t think so. I don’t think I’m comfortable with it.

Woman: There are tons of studies about breast fed babies and the health benefits. You know breast is best.

Me: Well, I also was not comfortable breast feeding and Gavin is a very smart well adjusted 19 year old.

Woman: dirty look

Seriously she just said she wasn’t comfortable with it. Hate to tell you but if mom isn’t comfortable with it neither is baby.

Second convo.

Mom to be: Ugh! I’m just ready I’ve gained 60 pounds i can’t keep gaining.

Woman: Oh I only gained 20 pounds during mine.

Me: I also gained a lot of weight. Most of it is water it will come off.

Woman: Dirty look

Why? What is the point you only gained 20 pounds! Good for you! Clearly she’s looking for support someone to life her up. And you feel the need to compare a few pounds?

Ladies be kind to each other

On a brighter note guess what this lady saw tonight:

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 21, 2018

some women can be so nasty and judgemental to each other, especially parents!!!

women, weight and pregnancy *head explodes* It’s just a head ****

I love your entries, I can really relate to you. Every day life 🙂

May 21, 2018

@carley-2 thank you for reading and your kind words <3

May 21, 2018

I never truly knew judgment until I was pregnant/became a mom. It’s a hard job, and we need a village instead of trying to compete with one another. Especially first time moms and all the doubt and worry that goes along with that phase of life. I could rant for days about this, but I know you know. Glad you could be a figure of support.

May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018

My former MIL made me feel like the WORST mother in the world when K was an infant. She had severe reflux (on three meds) and was so tiny. When she was not two weeks old, she told me to “start feeding her cereal from a spoon, that’s what I did with my babies, you’re starving her”. When I told her she had tongue thrust and couldn’t take a spoon, she told me to “force her, she’ll figure it out”. Way to make an already worried mother feel even worse!

I hope you loved D2! I can’t wait to see it!!

May 21, 2018

@wayward_woman my MIL preached and preached about breast feeding. She took it way overboard called me all the time telling me he was going to be sickly yadda yadda yadda. Finally I just told her my milk was already dried out. I had used cabbage to dry it out. I legit did too nothing like walking around with cabbage in your bra 🙂 I can’t even remember who told me to do it but it worked!

May 21, 2018

@wayward_woman oh yeah and dead pool was funny. Not as good IMO as the first but funny

May 21, 2018

@dancingthrough  Good grief. I’d say I’m glad I wasn’t the only one dealing with an overbearing MIL, but I hate that either of us had to deal with it.  Of course, this is the same woman who gave my reflux-suffering daughter a dill pickle and Red Vine licorice at 7 months old … Cabbage …. How odd.  🙂

May 21, 2018

@dancingthrough  I loved the first one. I can seriously watch it once a week and not get tired of it. We might go Tuesday evening, if I don’t have to work.

May 21, 2018

@wayward_woman sounds like both our MIL’s are a bit nutty. When I told mine about my milk drying up she told me if I had purposely dried my milk out I should get donated breast milk. Um, WTF?

May 21, 2018

@dancingthrough  Oh, good Lord. Yeah, my former MIL was a bit out there. And it sounds like both of our kids turned out just fine despite their involvement!

May 21, 2018

😊