This last week has been…

Interesting. Let’s start there. The weekend of the 4th was great. We camped in the backyard. Dale and Dennis were over every day, which Quinn just loved. And she was outside for 4 days. Don bought fireworks. We had a giant slip n slide. It was really good.

Tuesday night, after spending a good chunk of the day outside with Quinn, we decided to indulge Quinn just before bed and go hang out on the back deck. It was cooler, and breezy and nice. I started sneezing, nose running, my mouth was itchy, and then my throat and chest got tight. I took all the things, and it was 3 hours before my chest settled down enough I could sleep. I haven’t had an asthma/ allergy attack like that in a long time. But I’m not on my birth control either anymore because my BP hates me, and then I became constantly tachycardic. So..now I have a lower pulse, but the allergies and the hormones are back with an annoying vengeance.

So Wednesday morning, my chest is still tight, and I’m coughing. I have to work the next day and if I go in sounding like that, I’m going to scare everyone..because, you know…COVID. One doc appointment later and some prednisone later, I can breath again later that night. I become tachycardic pretty quickly after my first dose… that’s normal. The super high BP on the other hand, not so much. Thursday night was awful. My heart felt like it was breathing out of my chest, and it was tight again, hard to breathe. Last night James made me take my BP because I was so flushed. 158/117. 🤬 So I took my Toprol XL early. Tried to bed and the same chest pressure and tightness came back but worse than the night before. I waited a good two hours, drinking water and resting on the couch before repeating my BP. 160/113. 😣 so I took another 25mg Toprol XL, and eventually passed out around 2am. I’ve done 3 days of the prednisone burst and I’ve stopped the rest. I have another two days worth, but my BP just isn’t ok enough for that.

so, of course, my period decided to start today. 😔😤

on the upside, by HR, BP and chest are doing much better. So my heating pad and I will cuddle. I’m just so frustrated. All the docs agree that my hormones have run amok. They just don’t know why or quite what to do to manage them yet. James has been surprisingly supportive this week. I know things are getting better when I can tell him about the dark places my brain ran to on Thursday and Friday night.

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2020

Oh dear!  I’m sorry you’ve been through such a rough time physically. I hope you are feeling better now.