Goodbye.

I am way, way more sad than I should be. Than I thought I’d be. I feel like I’m losing a friend. I am misty eyed. I don’t do well with goodbyes. Who does? But my god, this place meant so much. To so many of us. I don’t want it shuttered. I want it here. Open. To remember.

This place. It FELT like a place, didn’t it? A real place you could actually go to. It felt alive, always moving, always beating. Like you could open a door and enter and find people here and find your past here. Like that was still moving and breathing too.

What am I saying? I’m trying to put into words the feelings I have about this place and I just can’t. Not properly anyway.

So I’ll say thank you instead. Thank you all for reading along. For offering shoulders when I needed it. For giggling with me at life or each other. For just being there.

Thank you to this place for changing my life. Changing it in the most dramatic and huge ways imaginable. My children exist because of Open Diary. My marriage exists because of Open Diary. I have made friends here who became real life friends and did real life things with me. I moved across the country with one of you. One of you became my daily partner in crime, seeking fun every day and night, all over this town. Some of you took me to concerts, to bars, to movies. Some of you opened your home to me when I came to visit you or your city. I dated one of you briefly and it was a lovely experience. My mom and I both wrote here and it was such a joy to get to know her in ways I’d never be able to do otherwise. I could go on and on.

This place has always been home. It’s always sat atop my bookmarks, in the first or second spot. I’d spend days and weeks reliving my past in a way I’d never, ever be able to do had I not written it down in such detail.

So here’s where we get off, right? Here’s where we end. Goodbye everyone. It’s truly been my pleasure.

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2014

Everything will be ok. Be well. Live your life exactly as you have here. Take care.

i’m sad too. xoxo

January 29, 2014

Just lovely Day. Exactly how I feel as well.

January 29, 2014

I’m paying my dues for this month. I am praying everyone else will too, though I know I am just dreaming. I can’t bare to see it go, like a sinking ship, along with our past.

January 29, 2014

You expressed it so well. I remember when you and Eric started dating. You didn’t tell us for quite a while. It’s been a long road for all of us. Now you are a wife and mother of two. I wish you well.

January 29, 2014

Thank YOU, Day. Sending my love to the kids and E. And you, of course.

What a beautiful entry. I’ve been a member for 14 years, I totally understand it.

January 29, 2014

This is absolutely beautiful. I didn’t “know” you here, but now I wish I had.

January 29, 2014

RYN: I’m on PB, though… I don’t know that I’ll post there that often. I like the community here, and they seem to have migrated there, but I don’t especially like the site itself. We’ll see. (And hi!) I know what you mean about this being a place too. 🙁

We all watched you fall in love and have babies and…..no…thank YOU….for allowing all of us along for the ride. It has indeed….been a pleasure. Michele

January 30, 2014

<3 <3 <3

January 31, 2014

just the other day, you, your hubby and I were talking about this place, you two….and me. Did I start here first or did you? could have figured it out if OD hadn’t once upon a time lost my first bunch of posts. darn. guess we’ll move to PB. I’m not sure I want to let these people get away from me.

February 2, 2014

xx

February 3, 2014

x

February 6, 2014

See you on prosebox? xx

February 6, 2014

This was said perfectly. Good bye. Hope to see you at Prosebox.

jls
February 6, 2014