Hurricane

I actually live in southwest Lousiana only about 20 minutes from the Texas state line. We are right in the path of this storm but it doesn’t look like it will too bad. Certainly not anything like the last one we had here that was real bad which Hurricane Rita back in 2005 I believe it was. At the moment it looks like the strongest that it’s going to get before landfall is a Category One so we will be staying.  I don’t really have a choice about that either way though. My current job which I started at just a few months ago, prevents me from evacuating. I am a phone operator for a chain of three hospitals here in this city. It’s a job that requires at least one person to be at all three locations to answer phones at all times. While we have about 12 different employees in our department, if any one of us gets flooded in and can’t come to work or something like that, I have to be on call. Technically my position is as an on-call employee. I work full-time hours without full time benefits. Go figure. But I’m told as a fill-in employee, I get paid more than a regular employee to make up for it. Whatever. That’s why I’m taking masters classes.

Anyway, I thought I’d share some of the most prevalent memes that have been coming up on my social media by being posted from friends and family.

        

      

Scripture of the Day: Job 5: 9-11
He does great things too marvelous to understand. He performs countless miracles. He gives rain for the earth and water for the fields. He gives prosperity to the poor and protects those who suffer.

Log in to write a note
July 11, 2019

I hope the hurricane misses you.

August 4, 2019

@jaythesmartone we got rain for one day and it wasn’t even a whole lot AND the rain was a day later than predicted. Thanks though.