It’s been awhile

So maybe it hasn’t been a long while but still 3 weeks… anyway, so no hurricane problems where I live. It rained less than it does on the most stormy days that we have that have nothing to do with a hurricane. Also, the rain was a full day late. But there have been other issues in the last 3 weeks. I’ve been through the gamut of emotions with school. I was all ready to just drop out two weeks ago. I started a multicultural counseling class. The program I’m in is accredited through something called CACREP which stands for Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs. Basically though, it’s part of Common Core which means that all of the learning materials are completely progressive leaning to the point where in one of the textbook chapters that I had to read, it was back to back pushing that ideology and agenda and in fact, using outright lies at some points to do so. They also made us read an article that basically said that if in an internship we say that we cannot council an lgbt person for religious reasons, we can actually be kicked out of our counseling program. Where I stand is, I do not believe anyone is born gay. I’ve known too many gay people with family problems that directly contributed to their life decisions to say otherwise. I also have known two separate sets of identical twins where one was gay and one was not which if you know biology, you know that is biologically impossible. Anyway, I would have absolutely no problem counseling an lgbt person as long as their issue had nothing to do with their lgbt status. So for instance if someone wanted to be counseled because of depression over the death of a parent or sibling or something like that. We also had to read an article that stated that Kentucky is currently the only state that has protections for counselors in this area and how that state is so horrible for passing that. My point is, why would you want someone to counsel you who doesn’t agree with your lifestyle anyway? That person would be better off with a counselor that’s going to tell them what they want to hear and the point of going to counseling is to leave better off than when you came in. Anyway, reading that stuff made me want to drop out but a friend talked me down from it and told me I should stick with it, so I am for now.

Second issue: Our apartment complex sucks. So I had started using the free little gym room to exercise when about a week later, both the treadmills stopped working. Here we are two weeks later and neither one of them has been fixed. They just sit there, dead. Anyway, I tied using the elliptical but even on the lowest resistance setting I was using my full force to push on it which I know from using one at a real gym, is not at all how it is supposed to work. I couldn’t use the bike because the seat is adjusted too high for my short person status and it literally would not budge when I tried to adjust it. Then there’s the pool. The pool has been green more often this summer than it has been clean. They cleaned it one day to take a picture to put o their facebook page trying to entice new people to come live here, then they let it turn green again. And not just a little green, but like crayon green. So now I’m finally back after getting past all my issues that were dominating my consciousness to the point where I felt too stressed out to do anything else. I can go walk outside, yes, no problem. Except that currently it is over 100 degrees here everyday. But still, I’m about to go just that. We have a two story civic center downtown with sets of stairs all the way around it. I’m going to walk around it for 30 minutes going up and down all the stairs. Here’s my pretty picture for today: I’m dreaming of fall with crisp cool air and cups of coffee on the patio.

Bible Verse for today: 1 Corinthians 9:24 Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win!

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2019

I thought counselors are suppose to be impartial so they just let you talk and eventually you figure out the solution you need to have?

August 4, 2019

@jaythesmartone to an extent. Counselors are not supposed to be forced to agree with things that we don’t just to make a client happy though. That would be like having an anorexic client and telling then they are just fine. When it comes to stuff like that, it’s better for a counselor to be able to refer a client to someone who is a specific expert on the issue. Basically, they are trying to tell us that we’d have to counsel someone even on getting a sex change operation even if we are morally opposed to it. But with something that serious, it would actually be better for the client to talk to someone who has chosen to be an expert in that group of clientele. I would say it would actually hurt the client more to talk to a counselor who is not an expert in that particular thing because they don’t believe in it.

August 4, 2019

And just to be clear. I believe anyone can do anything they want as long as they are not forcing someone else to be involved in it. Want a wedding cake for a gay marriage? Go to a baker who would gladly do it. Want to get married? Go to the courthouse or a fake church who will gladly do it. Just don’t force someone to do something they are morally opposed to. It’s as simple as that.