Rain!

A few things I forgot to mention the other day. That day was the fourth anniversary of the day my dog, my baby, Floyd, came to live with me. At the time that I had written my post, I didn’t realize what day it was. Every year I make a post on social media saying happy 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and now 4th anniversary Floyd! I also put the top 4 photos that I took of my dog during the previous year in that post. Every year, I am reminded what day that anniversary is by a memory thing that I have on there that shows me everyday, everything that I’ve posted on that day on that social media site over the years. The memory thing didn’t come up as a notification until later that day. Anyway, so it’s officially been four years that I’ve had my little baby. Here he is, half dachshund, half blue heeler. I have no idea how that happened because my baby was a stray that was found that no one came forward to claim.

So I said the other day that I’d found a great place to exercise outside. I don’t like to run because it gives me real bad shin splints but I have no problem walking. So I thought, I wonder if there’s a way to walk, besides power walking, that would give me a little bit more cardio exercise. Well, we have this civic center here that is two stories. It has a balcony that runs all the way around the second story and 7 flights of stairs on the outside of the building that go directly up to the balcony. So, I started going up one flight and down the next all the way around the building for 30 minutes. In that 30 minutes, I can finish exactly three laps around the building and I’m going up 11 flights of stairs and down 10. I also read somewhere years ago that it’s bad on your lower back to take steps up at the rate of one step at a time and that it’s better to take steps up at two at a time. So that’s what I’ve been doing. Technically, this is only me second time doing it this week. I did it Sunday, which led to my legs being crazy sore Monday and a little less Tuesday and being back to normal today. Monday I didn’t do any exercise and yesterday I just did some arm and back exercises from a few Youtube videos that I like. Both videos are from a girl named Casey Ho who has this channel called Pop Pilates. I do the back video first which is called POP Pilates: Backless Dress Workout- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7H4A2-UTZM and then I do the arm video which is called 6 Min to Sexy Arms! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1CohjEGbPc. They are both videos where you stand up the whole time which is what I love about them.

So I went back out today to our civic center to do the stairs again. The weather app that I have on my phone says that it’s supposed to Sunny all day with just some cloud cover. I get out to our civic center, which is only about two miles away from where I live by the way, and the wind is blowing a little harder than normal and the clouds are getting dark. I start walking and it starts pouring down raining. I walked anyway. Screw the weather. It was better than walking in the 90 degree heat anyway. It rained the entire time I walked and only stopped when I was finishing my walk. I drive back home, soaking wet, and it never even rained here. The ground is still completely dry. The devil was trying to wear me down and keep me from exercising and I did it anyway. I consider that a major win for today. Pretty picture for today:

Oh how I want to be able to look good like this for Fall. Honestly I know I won’t be able to look like that so quickly. Maybe by next fall…

Bible Verse for Today: Job 1:8-11
Then the Lord asked Satan, “Have you noticed my servant Job? He is the finest man in all the earth. He is blameless—a
man of complete integrity. He fears God and stays away from evil.” Satan replied to the Lord, “Yes, but Job has good
reason to fear God. You have always put a wall of protection around him and his home and his property. You have made him
prosper in everything he does. Look how rich he is!But reach out and take away everything he has, and he will surely
curse you to your face!”

I am surely not blameless. My biggest physical sin would be the sin of gluttony. Indulging myself regardless of the consequences has led me to my current weight. But instead of cursing God today for the rain, I mean how random but perfectly timed was that to ruin my walk, I pushed forward anyway.

Log in to write a note
August 7, 2019

Maybe there is a mall close by where they have a walking group then you are inside and dry and still get the same amount of exercise?

August 7, 2019

@jaythesmartone we have one mall and it’s only one story. No stairs. There’s a mall an hour away both east and west of us but they are both also one story.