The passion is just overwhelming

I just had an insight of the type I can only write about here.

During the last 2.5 years since i’ve had my baby, I’ve gotten fat. Not morbidly obese fat, but not chubby. Fat. It’s made me think of what to say to people who tell me I’m fat. Not that it happens a lot, but for the one person a year that feels like commenting on it, or even just so I feel ready with an answer – what do you say? It’s none of your business, sure, but that doesn’t feel strong enough. "Yeah, and you’re either mean or really tact-less" – workerd for me a few times but it’s kind of combatative. That news reporter said "I know I’m fat, you don’t have to tell me, it’s something that I deal with every day anyway" – yes, very true, but not strong enough I think. How about – "well, we all have our vices, mine are just more visible than yours". Yes, but people will usually not think about their weak sides.

How about "Yes, but what can I do, I just looooove food, I enjoy it so much. I enjoy it so much I don’t mind dying early. It’s my reason for living. Life would be bleak without all of the food I eat".

It’s not true – not for me at least – and I know a lot of thin people really love and enjoy food. But something about a passion that is so strong it’s hard to overcome even for health and social status – wouldn’t it get people envious? It’s like the fat person enjoys food inb a way another person cannot. Has a secret relationship to it that only he has… It feels like something powerful, not apologetic or defensive but not argumentative or attacking. Just – wow, you don’t know what you’re missing…

I’m almost waiting for someone to say something now…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoHs8i6nznU

 

Time: 18:21

Mood: Sunday night blues (for us it’s saturday)

Writing About: Iranian theatre

Daily philosophical approach / deep thought: There are really some good things about consumer culture

Nice thing that happened: Sex

Interesting thing that happened: Writing in my diary again 🙂

Log in to write a note
November 26, 2012

How about, “I may be fat, but you’re stupid, and at least I can go on a diet.” …That is the kind of thing I would like to say, but would never dare. People are not usually rude enough to tell me I’m fat to my face (they just talk behind my back), but if they do, I prefer the sarcastic approach (“Really? I had no idea. Diet and excercise, you say? Well, ****, I wish I had though of that.”).

November 26, 2012

Or you could say something about how you gained weight while you were pregnant and have had a hard time losing the baby weight. Unless they are mothers themselves, that might make them feel like assholes for mentioning it. But then, if they are mentioning it, they are already assholes so that might not be a deterrent.