Piano

It’s only been during the past several months that I’ve started playing my piano again.  I sit at the bench for hours, usually in the evenings, contemplating the music I could play as I refresh Facebook.  I feed the cats.  The later it gets, the more likely it becomes that I will actually be playing at any given moment, until it’s midnight and I’m choosing and discarding music–Chopin, Debussy, a bit of Beethoven–playing a few bars of each until I’m satisfied that the selection matches the music that’s trying to shake itself out of my fingers.

I know how the music should sound.  I’m playing pieces that I played before, years ago, before all of the music inside of me went flat, and I know how they should go: the melody, the dynamics, the high points.  After a false start or two, my fingers remember what to do, sometimes better than I do.  It’s a matter of blending the pedal at the right moment, striking the keys with the right sharpness, somehow breathing it all into the phrasing that makes the music music.

And then I hit a wrong note, and another.  Sometimes I let a short cascade of them tumble out of my hands before aborting my attempt.  Sometimes I know before the note sounds that it’s about to be the wrong one, but there’s nothing I can do about it; it’s too late to stop what I’ve set in motion and command my fingers to halt.

Sometimes I simply start over, perhaps a little louder, a little faster, in my impatience.  Sometimes I hit two or three horrible chords, very loudly, on purpose, to vent my frustration.

Sometimes, I say, “fuck.”

Sometimes, I say it more than once.

Sometimes, I say it loudly.

I start the piece again, still knowing how it should go, even knowing what I must do to make it sound that way, and I play it wrong again.  Again and again.

Log in to write a note
December 17, 2017

Could be a metaphor for one’s life that you pen today? Yes. Pianissimo.

December 17, 2017

Exactly.

December 17, 2017

When I was growing up, we had a baby grand piano. I took piano lessons but today all I am able to play is chop sticks. When Dad would play the piano, he would inevitably play “Moon River.” I would lay down underneath the piano and listen while he played. How wonderful that you have a piano. Keep playing even though it is not perfect. I once had a dear friend tell me that being imperfect is perfect. That’s so true.

December 17, 2017

Maybe it’s a metaphor for OpenDiary. “Play the fuck song. It’s boring when you just play the notes.”

December 17, 2017

The fuck song? What part of Open Diary are you on?!

December 17, 2017

@Dolar Angelicus: I always wished I could play the piano. My foster parents didn’t think a piano or lessons were affordable, so no. But, as a young adult, I bought a keyboard, organ type, and some easy learning books, and became self taught. My family teased me and said if they had a dog, he would be howling , then they all laughed. I laughed outwardly and cried inwardly. But, it was fun, and I liked singing along with the playing. I was never good, but, I had fun. 🙂

*tx
December 18, 2017

Sometimes when I’m experiencing down times emotionally sometimes aware sometimes not so aware I will experience moments where no matter how hard I try it just keeps not “happening” for me. I can’t come correct no matter what I try. My heart just isn’t in it. It passes. Eventually.

December 26, 2017

But at least you are playing 🙂