Stories

The weirdest things give me that strange heart-jerk which immediately precedes associating something with Peter.

Conservative Judaism. We lived in Squirrel Hill, which is heavily Jewish. Peter was the shabbos goy for our next door neighbors.

I’m in the process of trying to reclaim something from that. For over a decade, my favorite ‘story’ to tell myself–or daydream, if you want to call it that–came from playing Mage with Peter. For a long time, it was too painful to think about any of that.

Now I’m seeing that I can still just lose myself in the story as long as I’m careful not to think past the characters. It’s okay, while I’m doing it. Sometimes, it stays okay.

I think that anybody with sense would tell me to just make up a new story. Dream something different.

Love someone different? That’s also a suggestion.

Both get the same answer: how?

 

Log in to write a note
September 24, 2013
September 25, 2013

The answer to “how?” is “time.” As hard as it is to believe right now, time will help. It will always be painful to an extent, but it will become easier.

September 27, 2013

Well, I can understand why you wouldn’t want to come up with a new story – I still have a daydream story from when I was 14. The circumstances in my life are pretty different now, and I don’t really have the same ‘need’ for it anymore, but it’s still fun. I’m glad you can reclaim even the tiniest thing again.