Isolation beats confinement

If COVID-19 has taught me one thing, it is that society is something that we take for granted. We are so used to going to parties, sharing a bite of food with someone at lunch, giving high-fives at the end of a soccer game, kissing, hugging, touching people, that we do not realize how much we are comforted by human interaction. Even though this isolation is killing me, it is the part where I am stuck in this small house with my stressed out family that is killing me the most. Both of my parents are going to work durning this pandemic which causes them to come home yelling and screaming. This then creates a domino effect of everyone in the house locking themselves in their room. This tension between us is causing us to grow a part and destroying our family dynamics. Then you add the factor of online schoolwork. Being an IB student, I get around 14 assignments a day so I take about five hours to do my homework. My 6th grade brother has 2 presentations to do a week and somehow gets to keep one laptop all day. Then, my sister watches Netflix on the other. So I am stuck starting my homework at 1am each day. In times like these I tend to find myself questioning if isolation is worse or better than confinement. They say that the worst punishment someone can get is to be completely separated from any human interaction. But then at the same time, the moments where I am the most content are the moments when I am by myself getting everything done. I think this home-arrest has made me go a little crazy.

 

Until  tomorrow,

DreamaMACK

 

Log in to write a note
April 1, 2020

I can relate to the stressed out family comments currently. Missing external human contact without realising it.

April 1, 2020

This is a really hard time for families to try to figure out how to get along, for sure – but why your homework is not more important than your sister’s Netflix, I don’t understand!

Welcome to Open Diary 🙂