10072018

I hurriedly left them in a whirlwind after having come undone. In their silence I must have appeared insane, my hair a mess, wild and disheveled, and incomprehensible. Still, they extended their reach in futile efforts to amend only to make matters worse. Palpable pain seared from efforts dressed as “good intentions.” So I left their voices clamoring in the wind. I left their wisdom buried in the sand. I didn’t hear their footsteps follow behind me. I didn’t hear anyone call my name.

I was simply gone having left some scatter of words like “disappointment,” “never,” and “pain.” I said I’d never be seen or heard from again.

And honestly I didn’t mean for it to happen …but these things, they never are.

So here we are, standing at this empty gap between us, both sides knowing I’ll never go back. I peer into that darkness that seems to engulf the picturesque “other side,” and it seems to sigh–
This is what’s become of you now. It was only a matter of time…

It does seem that way, doesn’t it, I blink back. It’s always the same.

But I’ve started anew, elsewhere. I left that place and won’t be going back, and so now this is my new home.


 

Log in to write a note
October 8, 2018

It’s good to have you here, welcome!