103118

So she tried to fire me. The downside is that she gave no verbal or written warning and HR warned her about labor laws and how they have to give me time to improve performance. The upside is that we’re civil towards each other and she continues to mentor me while I continue working hard to produce.

The downside is I’m kind of pissed. She didn’t express any displeasure in performance or try to improve it, she just straight up scapegoated and tried to fire me. The upside is that I have time to transition into a new job, so I’m meeting with someone experienced in the field to see what my options are.

The upside is that money is still coming in. The upside is that I get more time to do things I like. The downside is that I’m super busy as fuck. The downside is I’m very stressed.

Life is like a roller coaster.

the upside is I’m not alone.

The downside is I don’t think things will improve between us or get any better.

The upside is that I now know what it takes to succeed anywhere in this business.

eh, life. Growing up. I will do better next time. My parents and I all agree that I’m handling this well.

most people wonder though why i bother to keep working there.

Cleo and Joan are growing so fast. They’re getting used to me already: they readily climb into my hand when I hold it out to them. They were so quiet the first day home, but they’re starting to make squeaks here and there, interrupting any sad thoughts I might have.

I enjoy having them. 🙂

Log in to write a note
November 1, 2018

I think you are handling your job situation very well.  You truly are.  Yep, there is protocol that must be followed before firing an employee.  I’m surprised your boss didn’t know this.  As far as Cleo and Joan are concerned, I’m so happy that they are a part of your life.  Pets bring so much joy.

November 1, 2018

@wildrose_2 There’s some reasons I can think of as to why she doesn’t know; first, she’s never been fired or close to being fired. Second, she has been close to being fired/fired and it was allowed within her particular company to fire on-the-spot. Third, she’s from a different country and is unaccustomed to our laws.
Still, you’d think she’d have received training about these sorts of things…

Yeah, I’m really glad for Cleo and Joan as well. Pets are so wonderful. <3