Fresh air

Monday I met a coworker friend for lunch. We decided to just pick up some salads from DQ and eat outdoors in the central plaza at the university where we both work. (I’ve been craving salad lately, which is unusual in that I don’t usually do that unless I have been sick).
My friend had just turned 60 last week. It did feel good to be outdoors in the sunshine and watch the leaves falling from the trees. We had a busy conversation. I have been working from home since mid-March, she has just now started working in the office 3 days a week. Campus is extremely quiet, but there are still some in-person classes going on with strict guidelines.

The loss of my dog Heidi is still the overarching feeling during my days. I often clean house when I am feeling this way, as if somehow the work will help me get through the bad feelings. As I vacuum I see the places where she loved to nap, nose tucked into a corner somewhere, sometimes close by my work desk or bed. As I dumped the trash I see the remains of some treat I shared with her last week. She filled a lot more of my life than I realized. I just wish I could hug her warm body and smell her fur. She was such a good dog.

 

Log in to write a note
October 14, 2020

Our fur babies are family.  Granger, my pup, has been a great source of comfort to me, I consider him part of our family.  My children say that he is treated better than they were when they lived at home. I am so sorry for your loss, and hope that you can find comfort in the memories you share.

October 14, 2020

@makingadifference Thank you Lora.