When Nothing Else Will Work

Whatever it may have been that I had done wrong, whenever it was, to this day it remains unknown.  I’ve searched my mind, our past, for nothing.  Or very little in the face of the change that came.
There was a single seat, amongst a throng of people, bustling about us.  I can be nothing but honest, I hushed and searched for any possible potential available for my daughter to sit down with her plaster sculpture to paint.  All in vain.  After a minute or so and some pleading from beside me, I suggested the one seat, at the table you sat at.  The head, presiding over the creative creatures about you.  And my daughter sat, at the opposite end.
Since I felt your eyes resenting me, chastising me, I ran through all the possibilities and then the best ways to cope with your disapproval.  Eventually I had come upon humbleness and shying away from looking to you.  I treated you as an ethereal being too difficult to look upon in your astounding light.  Even through times that I quietly despised you.
To my surprise, you raised your head and spoke a few kind words to my daughter… right before me.  I was quiet, and stunned, I hadn’t heard your voice in so long, it seemed foreign.  You were kind?  And so I smiled, and told my daughter I would be sitting with her great grandparents just beneath a nearby tree.
I thought and couldn’t believe.
And when you stood and left shortly before my daughter had finished.  I felt as though I could look upon you once again, as just a person and nothing more.  The light that ebbed from you may never have been stronger than today.  You almost seemed awkward in form after all of the years.  I hope that you remember, a little compassion changes all hearts around you.

Log in to write a note
Owi
July 17, 2019

Brilliant

November 17, 2019

Another lovely piece, really nice to read…