Why Have You Come Here

Years past, I awoke cold and wild in the all consuming darkness of my bed and my room and night.  And ocean of waves that swept over me with the vision of a young woman I’d known walking away, reflecting below and being lifted away by a multitude of hands.  We touched one another’s hair, fingers running through all the strands in a stairwell during a night one deeply, balmy summer.  That was years past, years aghast.
She’d taken her life years between those times.
I couldn’t help but take down the vision I’d seen.  As much as it haunted me.
As much as that night I felt her presence with me.
I ask so many questions, of who and why.  Is there purpose in the presence, or is all chance and simple occurrence?
  The uncanny never leaves, I want things I cannot have, things I cannot achieve.  It both drives and pains me.  Both have made me feral, I’m unsure if I can ever be satisfied.  And so I run on alone and recount memories and experiences, people I’ve known without better answers.  There is no place, no home for me.
Why have you come here?

Log in to write a note