am I really….free????

Today was my last day at the Hell O’Rama!! It’s a very very strange feeling. I just realized yesterday that I’ve been there longer than any other job – seven years. My previous job was also my previous record  – five years. No wonder I feel like it’s been an eternity.  

It was a strange day. K was gone, and will be on vacation all next week. Which means there will be nobody in our office next week. Except our two wonderful and supremely capable student workers, but they’re just there a few hours each. K had vacation scheduled, and admirably refused to change her plans. Insane Boss was gone today too. She kept saying yesterday how sorry she was to not be there on my last day – I kept thinking, I am SO GLAD. Because she’d be driving me out of my mind all day trying to get me to move files and order office supplies and send stuff to Archives and help her look for things in her office. Instead of focusing on what was urgent, like getting licensure sent to Raleigh so people don’t end up waiting six months for their pay increases. And leaving all my stuff in some kind of vaguely logical order. I honestly think she has no idea how much work my job involves. Because nothing but student teaching exists for her.

I seem to be having trouble just walking away from it. I was all, "Just call me if you need to!!! Email me if you’ve got questions about anything!!!! Don’t hesitate!!! I don’t mind a bit!!!!" And I’m thinking they BETTER keep up that database I’ve spent YEARS on, tracking all the licensure!!!! They BETTER not let this paperwork sit around a month!! They BETTER not forget about those admission applications!!!

I’m sure that Monday any separation anxiety I’m experiencing will vanish.

I was there all day today. I’d thought I would at least leave a little early – but no! I didn’t even take a lunch. I worked and worked and worked. Which is a pretty good indication that they are doomed, when I’m having to work like that just to get caught up enough to be able to walk away from it. And I still left a number of things undone that I just could not get to. But… oh well!!! I was also trying to weed through seven years worth of stuff on my computer, deleting what I could – which wasn’t much, I just can’t delete anything – and moving stuff to the shared drive so Insane Boss and K can get to it if they need to. 

Naturally I realized after I got home tonight that I forgot to delete all my bookmarks. I deleted a lot of them days ago, but left some of my personal ones – including OD! I don’t leave myself signed on to anything, of course, but I did mean to delete them all. Oh well. I can’t imagine anyone is going to have enough time on their hands to figure out what diary is mine, and read it.

I don’t think it’s quite sunk in that…. I’m OUT OF THERE. I get to start a new ERA! That nightmare is over! And I’m pretty positive that at the very worst I may find my new job less than exciting. And I’m SO okay with that. All I hear is good things about that department and the people who work there. When I started this job, a number of people expressed horror. And would say things like, "Wow… that department has a very high turnover rate!!"

And of course every phone call I got today made me happier to be getting out of there. Like the guy who says, "Well I HOPE you can help me! I’ve been transferred five times!!!" And then tells me he needs to mail his licensure stuff to me, and he wants to make sure I get it because he’s mailed it several times and it keeps getting lost. I’m thinking, yeah, right! Of course it does! Because that address I have on the packet in big bold letters is the address straight to Licensure Paperwork Purgatory! And I’m sure you got transferred five times because you dialed my phone number which is right there in big bold letters too!

 And the woman who tells me she’s just graduated with her masters in Educational Media – so, on the line that asks what area of licensure she’s applying for, should she put Elementary Ed? Which she’s been licensed in since 1999?? Oh, why not! We’ll let DPI read your mind! THAT always works.

Oh, oh, and the Reading Ed person who, as is the nature of all Reading Ed people, did not read and comprehend her paperwork before filling it out, so not only filled out way way below the dotted line where it instructs them to STOP filling it out, but continues to fill out our part, listing a date a month earlier than her actual graduation date, and best of all under "Accrediting Institution" she writes, "Watauga County." Ummmm…..NO.

  I’m about to fall asleep over the keyboard – so I’ll leave with some pictures of the holes all around and inside our house. Oh, and the car is still in the shop. Of course. Today I talked to my Honda Place Buddy who was waiting to hear from State Farm so I called State Farm and was told to call another division of State Farm – the SC/GA claim division, I have no idea what I’ve been calling for all these other claims – and they told me they’d talked to the Honda Place Guy already – but she assured me she’d call him right that minute and tell him what to do. I think at this point he’s called them and they’ve called him for so many different problems that everyone is confused. I’ve just about given up hope EVER getting it back. And it’s another weekend without Stella. Waaaahhhhh!!!!!

 

Oh… ummmm, these are going to be teeny. Because this is the size they are on Flickr and it’s going to take all night to go into each one and get a bigger size. Because I’m on … DIAL UP!!! Well, this will give an idea.

 

 

Holes behind the house.

 

 

Holes beside the house.

 

 

Great big things sticking out of the wall in the basement. Which will be sawed off at some point. And I have to admit, I am VERY embarrassed by the basement wall. That really isn’t mold. It needs painting. Badly. Now I’m thinking, no wonder I hate going into the basement – it’s haaaaaarible!!

 

 

 

The hole in the "finished" part of the basement that awaits an anchor. And a great big pile of dirt on the floor.

 

 

Baker B standing on a chair trying to rip off the panel. Yes, not only is our basement disgusting and scary, we also have unsafe work habits!

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 13, 2007

I don’t know you, but just seeing this on the front page was a little strange, because I was just thinking about the time I quit my job two years ago. I spent my last day clearing out my office and listening to the Smashing Pumpkins on my stupid little boombox while my boss just sort of wandered around.

July 13, 2007

I drove off feeling better than I had in years, and the feeling lasted for about three whole weeks until my boss conned me into coming back. Turns out I actually missed the place, for reasons I have yet to ascertain. Been there ever since, and I’ve got the ulcers and insomnia to prove it.

wow! so much going on in your life right now! and lots of good resolutions! here is hopeing you get a good resolution for your car and soon!

July 14, 2007

Yippee! Oh happy day. I don’t think a big change is ever easy and I always second guess myself and…but that is really good news about people saying nice things about the new department. Hope you are able to have a decent weekend in spite of the house and the car!

July 14, 2007

I have been exactly like that with every job I’ve left in admin – airily telling people to ‘just phone anytime’, ‘quite happy to pop in to explain anything’ & muttering under my breath “You’d better keep that bloody database up to date that I spent hours inputting info into & maintaining” and “I bet that whole system I spent ages sorting out for these subscriptions so that they stopped being in such a mess goes right out the window” & other such dark broodings! I just knew folk would be saying things like “I don’t know what she was doing with this but I can’t make head or tail of it ….” or “do we really need to do all this just to organise these events – I’m sure if we just …..” – cue disorganisation and shambles. And wow – these are HOLES – I can see why you’re so pissed off but I love the way Baker B is standing on a chair with the ladder out of a job on the floor!!

July 14, 2007

I like to use chairs too … sometimes ladders are just too tall! So glad you are out of that hell-hole. Hopefully they’ll muddle through without taking you up on your overly generous offer!

July 14, 2007

Wow. You’re done! Monday you start something new. This will be so good for you. Like a jump start!

July 14, 2007

yipee for the job, boo for the car, waaaa for Stella. Nowhere to go but up, right? Enjoy the weekend!

July 15, 2007

catching up with you. congrats on leaving behind the hell!

July 15, 2007

Oh, congratulations on your last day!!! YIPPEEE!!!!! Don’t all basements look like that? Mine’s worse, and I’m not kidding. I have some unexplained crack somewhere that leaks water and I can’t find the leak and I don’t know how I got it, but I’m sure I’m going to have to Do Something About It when I try to sell this house, which I hope will be very soon. I REALLY hope you get your house finished soon so you can get Stella back!

July 16, 2007

Seven years was way long enough. Hope they don’t call you, or if they do, your new supervisor forbids you to speak to Insane. The pictures are very interesting. I’m having trouble figuring out where the perpendicular poles are attached. Hope they finish up fast.

July 16, 2007

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope you are enjoying the new job!

July 17, 2007

ryn(s): Chocolate martinis! LOL Well, your excoworker’s problem is that she lives the whole while under the influence of the negative event. It doesn’t really deep down prepare her for the bad stuff – just amplifies it. I am every bit as much aware that someone could have a loud party and disrupt my night’s sleep. But I don’t suffer all summer long every weekend just waiting forit, while Freds does. Fulcruma simply will say that’s what you get for moving there, or I could have told you it wouldn’t work out, blah blah, blah. PUllease!

i am looking forward to hearing about your new job. and ryn, i will miss the frontier. i liked its layout. wonder what we get instead? surely not another condo tower!

July 18, 2007

The work will eventually get done and you’ll forget all about all the mess. Keep smiling.

Art would love you. He is equal in home owner repairs and updates….I mean this in the most kind way possible…LOL! It is great that you are fixing everything. I’d hire someone to paint the wall for you. You might regret the ‘phone me if you need to’. They could mess some people up if they don’t watch out. I find all the red tape drives me crazy about my teaching degree. I’m very happy itis all set up in our province! It took ages to straighten it all out at first.

August 8, 2007

It looks like a giant mess.

September 25, 2007

Found where you left your job. Not where or why yet, but never fear. Now I find a new thing. Where the hell is Stella?! Oy.