book review! wicked

I’m doing the very nifty Twelve in 12 thing where you read a book a month for twelve months and post reviews on the website – since I ended up writing it here first because I couldn’t finish it and didn’t want to save a partially done review on that site. Hey, I thought, why not just post them here too! So, here ya go:

Wicked
Author: Gregory MacGuire
406 pages

Riverwolf beat me to this review – oddly enough, we both read Wicked for November, so here’s Review #2:

I happened to see Wicked at a local bookstore for a good price, and have had several people tell me how much they liked it, so I picked up a copy. And I’m so glad I did. When I was a child, I read every Oz book L. Frank Baum wrote, over and over and over. I’m so familiar with the traditional version of Oz that I feel kind of like I, ummmmm,  grew up there. Which made me a little apprehensive about a different  Oz – but I throughly approve of this one too.

Gregory MacGuire did a wonderful job making his Oz both very familiar – Munchins, the Yellow Brick Road, the Emerald City, the tornado dropping the house on the Wicked Witch of the East – yet extremely different. Different and much more realistic. As scary as Baum’s Oz could be, it was still a reassuring place where animals talk and good always wins and nobody dies, unless they are evil. MacGuire’s Oz is kind of Baum’s Oz with a glaze of reality for adults.  There are Animals who talk and have jobs and are much like people, and there are animals that are like our normal, non-talking animals. The Wicked Witch of the West is a green-skinned girl named Elphaba  whose father is a religious fanatic and who ends up being roommates at the university with Galinda, an airheaded, flighty socialite who just wants to be admired and to marry money. Oz is stricken with droughts and poverty and the Wizard is a tyrant who is waging a campaign against the Animals and trying to take away their rights to live and work like humans. There are dueling religions and regional problems and lots of political upheaval.

Most of all, Wicked is about questioning the whole concept of evil. What evil is, what evil is not, if there even is any such thing as evil. The Wicked Witch of the West has always been portrayed as evil, as has her smushed sister the Wicked Witch of the East. But Elphaba is just a girl with green skin who goes to college and becomes involved in Animal rights. For starters. Her transformation into the Wicked Witch isn’t all what you would expect,  just like she isn’t at all the person you expect the Wicked Witch to be, and I found myself dreading the end of the book because of what I knew happens in the Baum version. Her traditionally evil sister is an overly religious girl with a serious handicap and a pair of stunning red shoes who becomes a ruler by default. Galinda, who changes her name to Glinda, is not at all the Glinda The Good from Baum’s books and the movie. And Dorothy is just some weird but likable kid who has fallen from the sky into the middle of a political brouhaha and can’t get the red shoes off her feet.

This is the first thing I’ve read by Gregory MacGuire, but I can’t wait to get a copy of Son of a Witch now.

Log in to write a note
November 16, 2007

the book sounds really good. i’m going to get it. how are the folks doing who were in the car accident?

November 16, 2007

Oh I am glad you weren’t disappointed! Yay for artists that can illuminate and enhance. It takes guts. ryn:I finally found a little snippet interview with The Tiger Lillies on NPR when the Edward Gorey CD came out and was relieved to hear them in their normal voices. Edward Gorey sent them a letter saying how much he liked them! Can you imagine? Amazing.I still can’t believe how blown awayI was by them.

November 16, 2007

Heh. Thats what I wound up doing too getting the rest of his books. I went on Maguire and Palanuick kicks until I couldn’t read one more word from either of them. Compulsive? Maybe. I haven’t been that excited about modern current works in a while though. It’s not even that Wiked was all that good, it’s just that dude has a lush command of the language.

November 16, 2007

What is it with notes not being left when they’re supposed to be!!! So here goes again. David saw Wicked on Broadway during his Senior Class Trip. BD read the book and LOVED it. She and I want to see the play sometime.

two books on my list. wicked and eat love pray… nice review by the way.

November 17, 2007

his books are very “future thinking” – we have talked about him and his work in several of my lit classes. Morgan loved the book, one of her favorites but was very disappointed when she saw the play on Broadway. I still haven’t had a chance to read it. school gets in the way of reading for pleasure right now, no time.

November 17, 2007

ryns- Mama is oblivious. Sometimes I think she’s adhd. But she’s taking it all in stride and when it gets overwhelming, she pulls out a word puzzle or a paperback. I’d love to hear what she tells Uncle W on the phone tomorrow night. But I’m outta here.

November 17, 2007

Please give them hugs and kisses from me. I told Mom & Dad that we need to get your parents and mine together. That yours ask you to come for the weekend so you will do things (like cleaning out their car) that they can do perfectly well themselves while mine won’t ever let us do anything. So the next morning when I got up, sure enough Mama had a list of things for me to do. Dad just made a “hmpf” noise, indicating that you’re an abused child. Do you ever wonder how your parents got together? Mine couldn’t be more different. But then, BD and d could justifiably say the same thing. It’s late, I’m rambling like a wreck from VA Tech…. (I’ve not been drinking) 🙂

November 17, 2007

ryn – actually tomorrow is day 9 so I’m a little ahead of myself.

November 20, 2007

Nice to see you doing reviews edna,and thanks for the suggestions. 🙂

If I had time to read, I’d pick it up.

November 25, 2007

This sounds like a good idea, I read well over 1 book a month since I read very fast, and would also like to read reviews of other books.

December 15, 2007

I enjoyed reading your review.I can’t seem to say more than a couple sentences about a book,afraid of giving too much away I guess. But you made people want to read it so well done.