England 20- a picturey entry with more pictures of picturesque Avebury

Have I said how much I loved Avebury? I really loved Avebury.

I could live here. Amongst the stones.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

And sheep.

enter image description here

This sheep had an itch.

enter image description here

Impressive trees:

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

West Kennet Avenue is a long stretch of stones — originally around 100 pairs of parallel stones.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

And lots of sheep:

enter image description here

And…. People Pictures! Kim is the one who gets most of the credit for the People Pictures. I tend to forget to take pictures of people, and I hate having my own picture taken. Then afterwards I’m really happy that Kim got so many pictures of us.

Baker B and I being all windblown and pensive:

enter image description here

And one of the very few pictures of us where a) I actually like my picture and b) neither of us looks insane. Baker B looks inattentive, but not particularly weird, which is unusual.

enter image description here

And check out the* faces* in that rock…. none of us noticed that!! I’ve got it as my profile picture on FB and a friend’s granddaughter actually pointed it out. How strange is that?!?

Obviously Kim didn’t take this one, but she made Baker B take it:

enter image description here

Oh! And a weird circle. Kim took this one too- I had a few of it but not a good one of the whole circle. Featuring Baker B and a sheep.

enter image description here

I’m ready to go back to Avebury right this minute.

Log in to write a note

Once again, I am loving this. Thank goodness you are drip-feeding us – I’d go off my head if seeing this all at once. Thank you very much!

Ok tomorrow I get to read your England series..god willing.. and I am so looking forward to it ..ley lines? Interesting.

December 8, 2013

Not that I need any more books to read but Friday night I downloaded The Old Ways A Journey on Foot by Robert MacFarlane. I a sure he has walked here and written about it. I thought about you and Baker B when I ordered it. Did you know that when an animal (including sheep and husbands and best friends) leave tracks it is called their foil? Gorgeous restful on the eyes green everywhere there.

December 8, 2013

I love Avebury. I love Avebury. I love it! I want to go back to there and Windmill Hill and East Kennet Long Barrow and Silbury Hill… Oh stop it! This is like being in a chocolate shop…

December 10, 2013

What great pics! You all look great and not at all insane. (Hee!) I am left gasping at the incongruousness of these humongous boulders lying along the bucolic landscapes… Any explanation as to why?

December 23, 2013

These are wonderful. Love the stones.