england #20- the barge, another horse, marlborough

Part ten zillion, five hundred and twelve of The England Chronicles. After sadly leaving Avebury, we headed to  The Barge. Baker B kept telling us we HAD to go see The Barge. The Barge is a pub on a canal outside Alton Barnes, and is a hotbed of UFO and Crop Circle activity – so of course we were not about to miss that! We drove south from Avebury — it’s not very far at all, and our BFF the GPS took us pretty much right there. I think we did actually think to put the zip code in after we’d wandered around the teeny town of Alton Barnes, and that took us to a point where we spotted a sign directing us to The Barge. It’s very much out in the middle of nowhere. Gorgeous lovely Nowhere, like all of WIltshire.

Here’s a very weird thing I have JUST discovered: the 200 year old barn beside The Barge burnt down the night before we got there!! Something had obviously just happened, as there was a fence up right beside it and Police signs, but we didn’t realize it was “just” as in THE NIGHT BEFORE. But we were there on October 28, which is when the barn was vaporized by a UFO!!!! Or something.

It was also not open for lunch, to our ENORMOUS disappointment. We were totally planning on eating there. It may have been winter hours — according to the home page, we just missed it. Very sad. But I’m totally going back. We still walked all around and took pictures and admired the view. And the Alton Barnes White Horse. Which is right there, across the canal from The Barge.

 

I’m SO sorry we didn’t get to go inside. It was built in 1810, burnt down and was rebuilt in 1858.

The canal runs right beside it, and is a very popular spot. There’s also camping spots available, I presume during the warmer seasons. Sadly they don’t still rent rooms, or we’d have tried to spend the night there.

 

 

SO obviously Baker B and I have to go back. He must investigate the UFOs and the Crop Circle mysteries —

Well, I don’t know why I can’t embed it, but here’s a link to a crop circle right there at the Barge– a video on YouTube, made last July.

Sadly again, we set off in search of another pub. We headed back up toward Marlborough, but en route we got to see the Alton Barnes horse from another perspective —

 

And with other horses!

 

A whole horse family, eager to let us pet them – well, one was. The other two, not so interested.

 

 

This one really liked us, though.

 

As we drove away, he kept staring after us, so hopefully —

 

Awwwww. But we had to forge onward. We were trying to get back to Clevedon before TOO late, although at that point I figured I would just have to drive in the dark, since it was probably 4 by then and we still had to find somewhere to get some dinner. On the way back up towards Marlborough, which is not far from Swindon and the M4 back to Clevedon, we saw one more White Horse – the Pewsey horse. I’m sorry to say I did not get a photo of the Pewsey horse. We were trying to hurry, and we couldn’t find anywhere to stop and get a good picture of it. Now I wish we’d tried a little harder, since of course I ended up driving back to Clevedon WAY past dark, and of course it was perfectly fine. But noooooo, we were still paranoid! And so we just saw the Pewsey horse in passing. After Kim nearly gave me heart failure by gasping at the sight of it. It was quite a distance off the road, unlike Hackpen Hill, but still impressive.

We had to go all the way back to Marlborough to find a place to eat dinner, but that was fine. Marlborough is yet another amazing little old town. And yet another place I’d LOVE to spend some more time.

It was actually a pretty good – sized place.

 

And VERY pretty. Unfortunately none of the pubs served food till six, and we were about to keel over and could not wait around till six. So we ended up eating at a French restaurant. Where I had what may have been the best hamburger I’ve ever had in my entire life.

And then we headed off once again for Clevedon. And our last evening in Wiltshire. Next stop…. the Glasontonbury Tor! And Stonehenge!

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2011

If I haven’t already, I have to tell you how much I am enjoying your travelogue through England. One of these days I’m going to go over there—when they either build a bridge or I can afford to cruise, because I will not fly! Lovely photos–I’ve saved some of them on my computer.

February 2, 2011

I love all this except the no smoking sign.

February 2, 2011

You didn’t see a big black SUV parked near the Barge by any chance? What and appealing horse!

February 2, 2011

maybe the horse was trying to tell you what he knew about the barn burning.. i’ve been enjoying all of these england entries so much as i hope to go there next year.

February 3, 2011

Gosh you’re making ME want to have a trip to England with all these entries! I’m kind of ashamed I haven’t seen more of my own country now lol.

I’ll bet that burger had a lot of CHEESE. Cheese seems to make any dish, and in a French restaurant??? Weird and disappointing about the barn. I love the big fluffy horse the best on these.

Wow. These are great photographs and fun to share you memories. Think you’ll get Baker B to go with you? Because if hd doesn’t go, I’M coming with you next time!! LOL Ask Lovely. I DON’T snore. *smiles*

February 3, 2011

I too am totally enjoying your pictures and travelogue. So cool and great fun. (Love teresa’s idea about the horse wanting to tell you about the barn burning.)

February 3, 2011
February 3, 2011

You had a hamburger in a French restaurant? Well, of course it was a French restaurant in ENGLAND, so this is understandable.

February 3, 2011

love it love it love it.

February 4, 2011

Yes, that horse looked like he wanted to follow you home (can we keep him?). Loved your pics of Marlborough. I spent some happy times there, although I don’t remember a French restaurant…must be new.

i wonder what it would be like to live someplace with thousands of years of history?

February 5, 2011

I just finished season 3 of Dr. Who and Jack is very much in the last three episodes. They finally explain the hand that Jack keeps in that jar at Torchwood! I am not sure if just watching the Jack episodes is going to work as there is a lot of detail buried in all the episodes. It makes watching them worthwhile and a few standing on their own are pretty good. You will love the Sally Sparrow episode in Season 3 and it has nothing to do with Torchwood. I am quite fond of Martha Jones now too.

It looks like so much fun. Maybe one day, I’ll make it to England.

February 6, 2011

These are great pics and I loved the link to the UFO vaporising the barn. How interesting!

February 23, 2011

Oh these are wonderful pics. Too much to say. How very weird, yes, that the barn burned down the night before. I’d love a ride on the Barge! Beautiful buildings, and history. The horse on the hill and the then the real horses just lovely. The scenery alone is worth the trip for heavens sake! All of it, just fantastic. You had the best hamburger ever in ENGLAND? I’d heard they had awful food!?