England #9 – Tintagel Castle (part 2)

note: this is actually a trip that my bff Kim and I took to England last May – I’ve been posting entries on PB and am copying them here. I only have a few more till I’m caught up with PB, where I am waaaaaay behind, so am starting to wonder if I’ll finish it before NEXT May.

I started an entry about the gorgeous breathtaking Tintagel one back, but it’s so stunning that it needs two entries just for the pictures. Cornwall is just unbelievably beautiful.

We walked all around the cliff area where the ruins we visited are. This is a view of the iron-age houses from above:

The views….

The other ruins, the ones we didn’t get to, on the mainland bit. I think that huge building at the top left is a hotel, and that’s the town of Tintagel in the distance.

The little figure on the cliff is a sculpture that I assumed was King Arthur, but he’s actually Gallos, who is inspired by King Arthur and all the other kings and royal figures associated with Tintagel.

He’s totally King Arthur, though.

Posing with Kim:

And me. And my weird hair. It was quite breezy.

The Bluebells were blooming!

Kim wandering:

Me wandering, and taking pictures of course! I wandered a lot farther afield since poor Kim had to go much slower in an effort to take care of her knee.

Going back down:

Then, sadly, we departed, taking the range rover back to town in an effort to save a little wear and tear on Kim’s knee. Tintagel was a very pretty town, which I’d love to see more of. We had pints at the pub on the left when we returned- Wootens Country Pub. I didn’t make a note of what I had in my travel journal, and apparently took no pictures- we were exhausted by that point and I think starving as well, and the pub wasn’t serving food.

SO, back to Bodmin we went, and had dinner in this totally cool restored old building in town:

The Chapel An Gansblydhen – which, LOL, was a Wetherspoons. Wetherspoons is a chain pub, and they are EVERYWHERE. In fact, the two times we stayed in London for a week, we always stopped off at the Golden Grove Wetherspoons in Stratford because it was halfway between the tube and our lodgings, had good cheap beer and food, and free wireless. I had fried king prawn and chips at this one, and a pint of Adams Bitter, which I DID make note of. It was good, but very…fried. Very cool building, though.

SO, next entry, onward to Port Issac!

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2018

What a wonderful trip 🙂 Thanks for sharing all your photos.

January 16, 2018

Wow, those are some awesome photos! I’ve always wanted to go to Cornwall, maybe someday…

January 17, 2018

@thediarymaster it’s stunning- it took me a long time to get there myself!

January 16, 2018

Wow, what an amazing trip!

January 16, 2018

beautiful pictures!

January 17, 2018

@forca thanks!!

January 28, 2018

Beautiful!

February 2, 2018

ah, tintagel… I went on holiday with my best mate once to cornwall, we had a week of wall to wall sunshine and tried to learn to surf and slept in our car and ate fish and chips, it was ace. It was my first holiday. I remember this place, it was fucking awesome.

February 3, 2018

@michael_1 it was gorgeous- I’ve never been anywhere like it and am dying to go back! What a great first holiday that must have been-