first Twelve in 12 entry

Can I keep it up all year?? We’ll see! Check out the Twelve in 12 diary– it’s been around for years but has been a little neglected the last year or so. Now it’s back and I’m going to try to be an active participant. You can too — there’s still a couple of days left in January!

So here’s my January book:

Title: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
Author: David Mitchell
Length: 496 pages

I became a rabid David Mitchell fan five or six years ago, when I read a review of Black Swan Green, which had just come out and sounded really interesting. Our weird little local bookshop didn’t have it yet, but they did have Cloud Atlas. So I bought Cloud Atlas, and that got me hooked. David Mitchell is a hard author to pin down. Cloud Atlas is made up of six slightly related stories, set in radically different times and places (including The Far Future), which proceed in chronological order, each breaking off at a crucial point, then after the "center" story they all go backwards again until each one is finished. Which, oddly, is much less confusing than it sounds. His books have a tendency to twist up time, space, reality, and genre, yet they are all amazingly readable. And addictive.

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet is not as immediately complicated as some of his other books. Time is straightforward and linear. It begins in 1799, with the arrival of Jacob de Zoet to the manmade island of Dejima in Nagasaki harbor. Jacob is a clerk for the Dutch East Indies Company, and Dejima is the sole port and point of contact between Japan and the outside world. Jacob has taken this job as a way to make enough money to marry his rich fiancée in Holland. Things get complicated when he falls for Orito Aibagawa, a Japanese midwife with a burned face who is a the daughter of a high-ranking local doctor.

The novel entwines Jacob’s story with a whole bunch of other people’s stories: Orito, a Japanese interpreter, a magistrate, a creepy Lord Abbot with a sinister monastery, and a British sea captain who is intent on taking over Dejima for England and tossing out the Dutch. Just for starters. It’s historical, romance, intrigue, suspense, and a thriller all in one. He’s a fantastic writer and pulls you right into that place and time. And it is not a feel-good book. Not at all.

When you’re done with it, you have to read all the rest of his novels. He’s a genius.

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2011

Ooh, never heard of this book. It sounds interesting – shall check it out!

January 29, 2011

thanks

So many good books are being reviewed. I’ve never heard of him either, but I will check him out.

i have read 12 in 12 days. snicker. well. i have had the bug. and am staying in.

Sounds like a good book. I wouldn’t join the diary, but maybe I’ll read some of these.

January 29, 2011

Sounds like a good read!

January 29, 2011

Fall of Giants by Ken Follett is another great book you may want to check out.

January 29, 2011

Oh my God save me – I CANNOT find the challenge bit where you join up – help! I’ve found the original challenge page and some folk have joined up there but it says to do it on the 2011 challenge page and I can’t find one! This is the sort of stuff that tips me over the edge these days lol ……

January 29, 2011

RYN: Yes I noticed that as well – I’m glad I wasn’t the only one to be confused! I ended up leaving a note on the entry for the 19th December hoping they’d see it – does seem a bit of a mishmash – hopefully they’ll realise and make it clearer. And of course I don’t know what I’m doing thinking of it anyway there being 2 days left in January and me not having read anything this month …… I was thinking oh it’s okay I’ll just post ‘The Pocket Muse’ which I’ve almost read all of – it’s a little book with writing ideas on each page and little writing anecdotes – then I read the rules lol! Not getting away with that then! May just have to read 2 in February instead ……. Thanks for helping me out though – sanity saved lol!

January 30, 2011

The book sounds very interesting. I’ll have to look for this author. I just finished The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova. Thank goodness for battery-operated Kindle when I was out of power!

January 30, 2011

You make me want to check Mitchell out.

Oooo! Go leave me a note on my Books 2011 page with your suggestions! (Go to my main page and follow the link to my books being hungrily consumed.) I still haven’t read Franky and Zooey (misspelled?), but I’ll get there eventually. There are so many books in my “to read” pile that I haven’t gotten to yet!

January 30, 2011

I’ve added it to my list of ‘try to get hold ofs’.

January 31, 2011

RYN: Exaggerating for profit? Nobody would do that!

February 1, 2011

RYN: God what are we like lol! The things some folk go through are just horrendous – I’ll investigate that book though – once I wade through the 50 I’ve got sitting here still to read …….. okay I exaggerate just a tad.

It sounds like a great book. I wish I had time to read.

February 2, 2011

I am still listening to it in audio book format. I admit I got distracted by the Torchwood books. Glad you liked it.

March 20, 2011

I loved Black Swan Green but did not get past page 3 of Cloud Atlas.