How do I tell if I have sufficient product realization to avoid killing myself with my new fancy smancy humidifier??

My, we certainly do get to write endless titles on OD now. I bought this cute little humidifier/aroma-thing a few days ago, and I really like it, although I’m a little, ummmm, baffled by the instructions. Especially this bit:

In real life it doesn’t look quite so much like some sort of weird dessert, and the steam shooting out of the top isn’t really that colorful- but the colored areas change constantly and are lots of fun. And are much brighter colors than the not-so-great photo. Well, they change and mist comes out of the top if you set it right, which I keep having trouble doing. Because, clearly, I am short of product realization.

We are having a very very slow day at work, although tomorrow we will be overwhelmed since grades post overnight and we’ll be clearing the December graduates. Or not clearing them, as the case may be. Since Mr. Organized and I have Miss Tattoo helping us now, I expect that will go fast. Until then, I’ll try catching up on my diaries. Reading and writing. Kim and I got to go on yet another jaunt to England last May, to Cornwall and Wiltshire, and I’ve been making entries about that on Prosebox… VERY VERY SLOWLY, omg I thought it took me forever last time, and this time we’ve been back seven or so months and I think I’m on the third day of the trip. So when I figure out if the pictures will work by copying an entry directly, I’ll start posting them here too. For the next ten years, at this rate.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
*tx
December 18, 2017

I’m afraid I’m most likely product unrealization or whatever it is .. also.

December 19, 2017

@Edna Million: I didn’t “realize, ” either, and still not sure I do. But, I Googled Product Realization and got this on one site:

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

The short answer is that product realization is a term used in ISO 9001:2008, referring to the basic design and realization of a product provided to customers, measurable by quality control. The long answer is ISO9001:2008 product realization provides clear, certifiable standards for the process of bringing a product to market. Product realization means a clear idea of what the product will be, usually expressed in drawings, statements of work, functional product specs, or their equivalents. Based on this clear idea, quality management can objectively determine if the product was “realized” and how efficient the process was.

In order for a quality management system to be ISO certified, key product realization mechanisms must be present to ensure:

1) the customer’s needs have been communicated and understood

2) the desired product will be realized

Why does ‘product realization’ matter?

As with other requirements of ISO9000, the goal of good quality management is not to complicate matters or make life more difficult. In an increasingly globalized world, product realization provides the basic framework for parties to communicate what they are expecting and to ensure that those needs be met, regardless of the cultural and geographical location of either party.

December 19, 2017

LOL! I guess it means…. if you don’t understand what it’s for, then you shouldn’t use it??? At least that is a thing that exists!