scanner madness

All I did today was scan old photos. All day long.  I really enjoyed it, though, so that was okay. And it poured rain all day long too, so I didn’t have any desire to leave the house. I have quite a few old family photos in frames, and a bunch of the ones I really love are in collage frames, so I tackled those. That was a lot of work, because the photos of course don’t fit the collage holes at all, being very old, so I’d done all sorts of improvising to get them to look okay. Scanning them meant taking them out of the frames which was an ordeal. So was getting them back in. And I can see from here that I didn’t do a very good job getting some of them back in, but oh well.  I figured it would be best to do those now while I’m still all gung-ho about scanning. I know my ADD Gemini brain – I’ll get tired of it and move on to some other project before long. The ones in frames are my favorites, too.

The scanner is really fast, even doing a pretty high resolution scan, and I was uploading them to Flickr as I went, and that was fast too. It’s SO much better than the old scanner, which took forever even at a lower quality scan. And you couldn’t do anything else while scanning – with this one, you can use other programs while it scans. But it scans so fast you don’t need to.

This may give me something to write about for awhile that doesn’t involve whining about my job/coworkers. I thought it might make me melancholy to do this, but it really hasn’t. Of course, I’m not thinking too much about them either. I kind of got Old Picture Melancholy Overload after my aunt died and I ended up with a bunch of old ones I’d never seen. So I do try not to get on that "Oh, they were so young and having so much fun and now they’re DEAD!!!" train of thought.

So, here ya go!

This is one of my favorite pictures of my father. I’m not sure what he was doing, but he looks like he’s carrying his lunch in that bag. I think this might be up on the hill behind their house. It’s somewhere around there, I’m sure.

Another favorite of Daddy – I don’t know what they were doing here either, but they look like they were up to no good. That’s his friend Earl Shope – or Edgar? I forget, there was Earl and there was Edgar. One died before I was born and I remember the other one as this really silent old guy who still lived with his mother in an old house not far from us. I think Daddy was amused that we’d named our kitten Edgar. But I love their cool slouches and their cigarettes. Baker B says my father looks like Syd Barret in this photo, the Pink Floyd guy who went nuts. Also amusing as my father was about as un-Pink-Floyd-crazy as it gets.

This may be my favorite picture ever. In fact, I posted this one a number of years ago when someone asked me what my favorite picture ever was. That was before I lost my Picturetrail account. But I think this may be it.

This is Daddy’s brother HL, who was about seven years older than Daddy, and the next to oldest of the six kids. I love how dashing he was, and also how the picture is all tilted sideways and it’s a very nice composition, and I’m sure that was completely accidental. That’s the house they grew up in behind him, and my grandfather way back in the background. And I think someone’s finger got in the way. I even like that.

I grew up in a house about halfway up the hill behind the tree in the middle, which isn’t there yet. If you were standing where the photographer is now, you’d see 9 or 10 houses.

This is three of my aunts – including Cousin E’s mother – and my mother on the end, on the right. I have always thought they were at the beach in this picture, but I don’t really know that’s true. They’re kind of dressed up to be at the beach – and I just realized that’s someone’s picture on the window sill. Why would they have someone’s picture at a motel room? This is probably not really the beach. I think I got that idea because there are so many pictures of all of them at Daytona. And it does look like they’re having a lot of fun, wherever they are.

And finally, all the kids. Daddy is fourth from the left. He and Mabel, beside him, have the exact same expression. Everyone else is kind of looking at the ground. Jean, on the end, looks like she’s trying not to laugh. I’m sure that’s my grandfather’s shadow, with the hat. Taking the picture. Maybe my grandmother is the other shadow. They’re standing in the road in front of their house. Obviously there wasn’t as much traffic on that road then as there is now.

And that’s enough for tonight.

Log in to write a note
March 19, 2008

The women do look like they are having a blast and are so stylish! They are all great pictures. What a marvelous way to spend the day. Now all you have to do is write the novel about it all.

well, i can see where you got your good looks from. it runs in the family! my family never forgave me that i had a pretty nose. sigh.

March 19, 2008

They look to have been taken in the early 1950s.

March 19, 2008

great pics!……… 🙂

March 20, 2008

Wow, I LOVE these old photos!!!!!

March 20, 2008

i love the old photos. i have tons of old pics that i would love to show here in OD. the only other person in my family who enjoys old pictures is my cousin Brian. my own children don’t seem too interested in the family tree. share some more..of yourself too and cousin e. ryn: honestly, sometimes i feel like i’m in some nether world when i’m with my adult children and spouses. i’m the one with the big body and tiny pin head..lol!

March 20, 2008

Oh, this is so cool!!! Edna is the best relative on the planet.

March 20, 2008

you have inspired me. again.

March 21, 2008

Very cool! I love old pictures.

March 21, 2008

These are fantastic. I love old photo’s. Your dad is very handsome. One thing that in usually in common-besides the dress/hair, etc.-is that the guys always have a cigarette in their hand and they always look so devil may care. Love it. Your scanner is great, you can see the details so well-it’s fantastic.

March 22, 2008

Per Mom – Earle died not very long ago. Polly took the picture of the aunts, 1953 or 1954. Mom and Polly lived in an apartment in a house. It looked bare because they never did any decorating or settlling in. Polly was getting married and Mom thinks your mother was there getting a sofa for Mrs. Sprinkle. They were sitting on Mom’s bed. You’re exactly right about the shadows on the snow. It was on a Sunday, maybe when HL was going to college. He went 2 years before the war. Aunt Sis is wearing a coat Granny bought for Mom but she never grew into it.

March 23, 2008

These photos are fabulous. My father has been working on a huge genealogy project and has scrounged up all kinds of old family photos. I think it’s amazing. They hold such a feeling of time and place and life as it was. Great that you have a scanner and are posting them. xxoo,

these and the shots you posted recently really make me want to start digging around in my dad’s genealogy stuff.

March 24, 2008

I love the old photos. They say so much about a lost world.

March 26, 2008

The lady second from the left looks like a old time movie star. are these pics from the early 50’s?

March 29, 2008