scintilla day 8- BFFs forever

 Scintilla Project: Day 8. Who was your childhood best friend? (yes, I did skip 7)

When I was a child, my cousin who lived in Richmond was my best friend. We were the same age, and although she lived far away, she and her mom and sisters came to Asheville every summer to visit my aunt and grandfather. They stayed for weeks, so we got to spend lots of quality time together, and during those weeks we were inseparable. My aunt and my grandfather also went to Richmond every Thanksgiving, and always took me along. I lived for summers and Thanksgiving.

But summers and Thanksgiving were only a fraction of the year. The rest of the year, all those long months that weren’t summer break or Thanksgiving, I didn’t get to spend every waking moment with my cousin. And I was a very shy child and a very odd child – not a good combination. I was tall, I wore glasses, I had no social skills. We went to a peculiar church that didn’t allow us to do anything rambunctious or watch TV from sunset Friday until sunset Saturday, so I couldn’t participate in many school-related activities. I was very quiet and very awkward, I had horse-madness and I loved to read. All of these things made me peculiar, and I didn’t really understand how to make friends. So my cousin was my long-distance, summertime and Thanksgiving best friend. And books were my year-round best friends.

I learned to read long before I started school, and was so far ahead of my first-grade classmates that I got sent to the third grade classroom for reading. Just one more thing to make me weird! I loved reading more than, well, pretty much anything else in the world. My mother would take me to the teeny East Asheville branch of the library every week, and I’d come out with a stack of books so high I could barely carry them. And I’d read them all. I especially loved books about horses. I read all the Black Stallion books over and over and over. I read Man 0’ War, and all the My Friend Flicka books, and all the ones by Marguerite Henry – King of the Wind and Misty of Chincoteague and Brighty of the Grand Canyon and about a gazillion others (I actually did not remember that she wrote all those books – I just looked it up thanks to the miracle of Google). And I read National Velvet many many times. I also loved Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass beyond all reason (okay, I still think they are brilliant). But I think my favorite books of all were the Wizard of Oz books. There were fourteen original Oz books by L. Frank Baum, and I read every one of them, over and over and over and over. I remember my mom asking me, just a tad concerned, how many times I’d read those books and if I didn’t think maybe I should read something else for a change.

So, really, although I considered my cousin my best friend, my day-to-day best friends were books. Books didn’t care if I was shy and peculiar and wore glasses! Books thought glasses were great, actually. They look so… bookish. Books let me be whoever I wanted to be, even if who I wanted to be was a horse. Books were always there, and the library was happy to let me check out the best ones as many times as my peculiar heart desired.  

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2012

Sadly, I can’t see the photo. So many points of connection in this. I was also a ‘weird’ child, without ‘social skills’ and reading was my passion. I was also jumped up school classes. I know what it is like to have parents who don’t let you do all the things the other kids do. We never went to the pictures. I wasn’t allowed to go to music or dance classes or have other kids over to play.I couldn’t read comics or chew gum…I felt like an outcast, but books were my friends. However I wasn’t into horses, and can only envy you your lovely cousin whom you saw on holidays.

March 24, 2012

Reading this I was thinking of the interview I heard yesterday with Jeanette Winterson about her new memoir. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/25/books/review/jeanette-wintersons-new-memoir.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1 I had this ever present brother so close to me in age growing up it was hard for me to make my own friends. I did have one from first to third grade but then we moved awayand I pretty much gave up on the best friend thing until I was umm 29. All my sibs read all the time so it was pretty normal growing up, we constantly talked about all the marvelous stories we were reading. Books were (and are) just magical. I try not to take them for granted.

if you were discriminated against by the other kids, of course you would prefer your own company. sometimes i wish i could see the current miserable state of affairs of some of the bullies that were in my childhood.

March 24, 2012

That’s making a lot of sense to me – and I remember the thrill of learning to read ‘silently’ long before the other kids at school – I was so chuffed!

March 30, 2012

i swear i could have written this entry. when i was in 1st or 2nd grade, my teachers put me through a series of “reading comprehension” tests because they could not believe 1) that i could read and 2) that i read so fast. after i answered every single one of their questions correctly, they grudgingly admitted me to be a freak of nature. hahahhaaaaa. that made me fit in real well with my peers i te

March 30, 2012

… i tell ya. (not). so i totally get that awkward bookish childhood, for sure!

I love books, too. I always had my sister and books.