See ya, 2017!

Well, that’s an extreme close up of my New Years drink- maybe one day I’ll learn how to properly adjust pictures.  Not today, though. We are having our usual Hermit-New-Years. We watched The It Crowd “Aunt Irma” episode because it is now Boosh Season so we are watching all Boosh Related Stuff, which means all the It Crowd episodes with Richmond (on an amusing side note, we discovered The Mighty Boosh thanks to the IT Crowd, because Richard Ayoade, who is Moss in the It Crowd, was also on The Mighty Boosh. And that guy who plays Richmond has something to do with it!! That guy who plays Richmond, Noel Fielding, as it turns out IS The Mighty Boosh, or half of it, and Richard Ayoade is only in a few episodes, but hey, it worked out get us hooked.  Now we watch All Things Booshy each winter to help keep us sane.) And then we watched the Upstart Crow Christmas Special – if you have not seen Upstart Crow, which is a British comedy about Shakespeare staring the hilarious David Mitchell as Shakespeare himself, you need to go watch it right this minute. We just got done with Season 2, then they had the Christmas Special, so we of course had to watch it too.

Now Baker B has already gone to bed. Which is the norm too. Also the norm that I have not gone to bed – I am a night owl and have trouble going to bed before midnight even when I have to get up for work the next morning, so I am certainly staying up to see the ball drop tonight. Although I have to say, the past few times I’ve watched the ball drop it’s been quite the underwhelming experience. Usually I go stream other countries festivities, which are a lot more fun. Fireworks in London! Fireworks in Sydney! Fireworks everywhere else!!

We never go out on New Years, but this year we’d have had a reason to stay in even if we’d planned to go galavanting. It’s SNOWING. And it’s like 12 degrees out there right now, which as several people have reminded me, is not nearly as bad as the Scary North where it’s like TWELVE BELOW ZERO.  All night long we’ve listened to people in the neighborhood sliding their cars into the ditches. So, happy to stay inside, with cats and wine and the heater turned WAY UP.

SO, Happy New Years to all, and let’s hope 2018 is happy. I actually had a pretty good 2017- no deaths, no serious illness, the remaining parents are holding their own more or less, and I got to go to England which dominated half the year in planning and anticipating and recovering. If I can ever figure out how to easily post England entries I’ve already made on Prosebox, I’ll do them here too.  Plus I’m WAY behind on them anyhow.  Cheers to the Next Year—

 

Log in to write a note
December 31, 2017

Oh my gosh! The snow is just beautiful! Where I live in California (by the coast) we have no snow so to me it would be exciting to be inside a warm toasty house looking out the window at the snow. You went to England? OMG! You are so lucky! I have yet to be to Europe and my dream is to one day go. I still work so I’m thinking I will wait until I am retired, 7 more years. I only get so much time away from work as it presently stands. But England? Wow! Here’s another Happy New Year to you! May it be the best year yet.

January 2, 2018

We are SO lucky – this is actually the third trip I’ve gotten to take to England. Of course, I haven’t been anywhere else! I absolutely love it. In fact, when my husband and I retire (probably 4 years for him, at least 6 for me) we’re planning to spend months at a time there. I’d move there if I could! We always go on the cheap, as cheap as possible anyhow. Airbnb, and last time the airfare (always the biggest cost) was insanely cheap- $640 round trip. We mostly eat at pubs and walking is the main entertainment. It’s surprisingly affordable, especially now that the pound has fallen so much.

*tx
January 1, 2018

I’m staying in watching the beginning celebrations to the ball falling 2018 myself. Warm and safe and fur babies. Cheers to you!

January 1, 2018

Hi, you can copy/paste them into a blank entry on here, if you like. I saw a note from the DM earlier telling someone they could do that, lol. Happy New Year. I live alone, and stayed in, as well. Much safer, and here it is -14!! I just started and ran my Jeep for a while, to keep it charged. 🙂

January 2, 2018

I couldn’t get that to work, although I don’t think I tried just copying the main page- I was copying the edit page thinking the pictures would show up that way. And only the code showed up! Just copying the main page might work, though.

January 2, 2018

@ednamillion ; OH okay, Good Luck. :O)

January 3, 2018

@butterfly4him Yikes – that DID work! Thank you! I had not just copied the page itself, thinking the pictures wouldn’t show up, but they did- very exciting!

January 1, 2018

I’m with you on how to spend the evening of 31 Dec except give me a Sauvignon Blanc from Marlboro NZ.

January 2, 2018

I probably should have just gone with my favorite local to-die-for Porter, but horray for anything boozy on New Years!