2001

2001.

That’s when I started writing in this thing, healing in this thing. I downloaded everything several years ago when word of OD’s demise spread around my geriatric millennial corners of the internet. Sometimes I crack open that massive text file and just remember. Remember the things I can never forget, but mostly remember tiny little pockets of moments that completely left my awareness over the years. It is such a gift to jump back into the sea of color and fury that was my adolescence and early adulthood. I left it all on the dance floor when I came here. The emotions, the secrets, the desperately held beliefs. They all were speared onto these pages with the fervor and audacity of age so that I may never forget what it was to be so violently young.

The getting out of truths was a blessing, but maybe just as beautiful were the comments. Some people commented for ages. We shared stories and experiences and advice for years, across different demographics and decades and it just didn’t matter. We didn’t exchange phone numbers or photos usually, it was just about baring witness and sending love. It was all so pure. Such were the days of early internet. I wonder if any folks are still out here in these streets. I know one for certain is not. Arya. My first internet friend. My first love. My first loss. Our soul connection lives on my brother.

I grew nostalgic and began longing for this forum, these connections, wondering what an older, wiser being would make of such an opportunity. I started searching around wondering if people still do online diaries and much to my shock, I beheld OD resurrected and standing on the shore with open arms. I welcome this new experience with with a comfortable, old medium. Let’s see where this ride takes us.

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2023

welcome back!

February 12, 2023

@thelastdruid Thank you ❤️

February 12, 2023

Welcome back. 🙂 It’s a little different here, but still a nice community for the most part. I’ve been here since 2000… wonder if our paths ever crossed in the old days!

February 12, 2023

@thecriticsdarling Thanks! If you were once an angsty, wordy youth too, we must have 😆

February 13, 2023

Welcome back to OD 💖

February 19, 2023

@ladiwan Thanks!

February 14, 2023

“It is such a gift to jump back into the sea of color and fury that was my adolescence and early adulthood…so that I may never forget what it was to be so violently young.”

yes…yes…hell yes!  OD was my confessional when there were so few refuges while figuring things out; to be vulnerable and honest when others didn’t know what to say.  When this site came back on it was a gift to roll my eyes at how “young” I was…but also to be surprised and reminded what it sounded like to be so fully alive…

I went through years of life when the kindest spoken words I got came from this community of people whose names I did not know.  I can’t explain how meaningful it was

February 19, 2023

@mikey4u I love that you have had this experience too ❤️