Theme of the week

 


what is going on around me? I’m propped up on the sofa with a cup of lemon and ginger tea, shoes off and feet up. A fly is buzzing around the room, having come in through the back door but unable to see its way out around the corner through the kitchen so it is going backwards and forwards from one window to the other. I feel the panic in its frantic buzz.

My older daughter is sitting on the other sofa, curled up with her legs under her, excited about the new Camilla Cabello song coming out tomorrow. She’s wearing a yellow hoody with the hood covering her beautiful hair. She is guessing what style the song will be.

The atmosphere is of anticipation. I had a call from the regulatory body with whom I want to be registered in order to care for children at home. We’re playing communication tag as I left a message back afterwards. However, this means I have spent three hours in the garden, ensuring it’s safe for children to play.

After my drink I’ll go to the bathroom to sort out sharp things and medicines so they’re out of the way.

I can hear an aeroplane flying overhead; Flight Radar tells me it’s either the Frankfurt to Havana flight or the Athens to New York flight, both of which are close by.

The sun is shining outside, giving the feeling of languid laziness and my neighbour is cleaning out her car over the road.

In the kitchen, the tap drips and I should probably go to switch it off properly.

On the table behind me is a white enamel jug with flowers bursting out of it in red, yellows, orange and cream. Also the maths work that daughter did this morning. She’s becoming more independent with her learning, needing me to hover over her less.

My tummy is gurgling, probably digesting the large amount of strawberries eaten after daughter and I went to the local pick-your-own farm this morning. They’re so yummy!

And that is all that is going on around me on a sunny Thursday afternoon in a British suburb.

Log in to write a note