Dream Big

Yesterday was Mother’s Day. I had a headshot session in the morning that went well. I joined Ryan & his parents for lunch, where we made his dad laugh so hard his ribs hurt afterward. My students had a practice recital (that no one showed up for because it was Mother’s Day), and everyone who played did really well (except for Crying Girl, but I expect that). Then Ryan and I cooked dinner for his parents: steak & baked potatoes & green beans, with angel food cake for dessert. We spent our evening going on a long walk through our favorite neighborhood & dream about which house we want most (spoiler: it’s all of them). Then we spent about an hour figuring out how much we spend on average a month, how much I make a year, how much Ryan will be making a year at the new job, and how much that means we have to spend on whatever we want for fun. According to our math, which we know is fallible but we’re pretty sure is fairly accurate, one year from now, we could buy me a new Mark 3, buy him a new computer, put a downpayment on a house, and still leave ourselves a decently sized buffer. It is crazy & scary & exciting to think about where we could be in one year.

I woke up this morning to Ryan holding me tight before he went to work, to sunshine streaming in through the window, to good music waiting for me on the computer, to pretty photographs ready to be edited. If anyone had told me 5 years ago that this is where I would be today, I wouldn’t have believed it, but I would have hoped.

18/52

Log in to write a note
May 14, 2012

what a lovely, easy feeling photo. love it.

May 14, 2012

what a lovely, easy feeling photo. love it.

May 14, 2012

what a lovely, easy feeling photo. love it.

It’s almost like, when you’re in these moments, you know in your bones you were meant to be here all along ♥ I adore your princess skin against that red dress, darling. Sucha stunner, always.

It’s almost like, when you’re in these moments, you know in your bones you were meant to be here all along ♥ I adore your princess skin against that red dress, darling. Sucha stunner, always.

It’s almost like, when you’re in these moments, you know in your bones you were meant to be here all along ♥ I adore your princess skin against that red dress, darling. Sucha stunner, always.

May 17, 2012

ryn// I knooooooow. I’ve been away from a computer/reliable internet source while I was on vacay! Ima try to do it tonight or tomorrow sometime!

May 17, 2012

ryn// I knooooooow. I’ve been away from a computer/reliable internet source while I was on vacay! Ima try to do it tonight or tomorrow sometime!

May 17, 2012

ryn// I knooooooow. I’ve been away from a computer/reliable internet source while I was on vacay! Ima try to do it tonight or tomorrow sometime!

The thing I’ve loved most about the past ten years, is that ten years ago, I thought I had it all mapped out. I knew what was supposed to happen and when. The beautiful thing though, is that none of it happened like I intended, instead it all happened in it’s own time and it’s own way, the way it was meant to be. That makes me happy. P.S. I LOVE that photo!!

The thing I’ve loved most about the past ten years, is that ten years ago, I thought I had it all mapped out. I knew what was supposed to happen and when. The beautiful thing though, is that none of it happened like I intended, instead it all happened in it’s own time and it’s own way, the way it was meant to be. That makes me happy. P.S. I LOVE that photo!!

The thing I’ve loved most about the past ten years, is that ten years ago, I thought I had it all mapped out. I knew what was supposed to happen and when. The beautiful thing though, is that none of it happened like I intended, instead it all happened in it’s own time and it’s own way, the way it was meant to be. That makes me happy. P.S. I LOVE that photo!!