Dreams are built around the word hello

I’m sure my sixth-grade self didn’t imagine a 28-year-old me who was still writing on OD; I’m also sure my 23-year-old me didn’t imagine a me who was able to write on OD once again.

But after 4+ years of writing on Prosebox, now *that* is what feels like home. What does OD give me that I haven’t already found elsewhere? In sixth grade, this place was a refuge, a place to find people who weren’t from the same tiny town as me, who could give me friendship and advice I couldn’t find in real life. At 28, the entire world is open to me already, and I have places to share my thoughts. I don’t see myself paying for a subscription here because I don’t know what this place has to offer me that’s not fulfilled somewhere else in my life.

Still, OD is a part of who I am as a person, so it’s impossible for me to imagine not at least saying hello.


Life is so much better now than I ever though it would be. Since my last entry? Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up. I ended up staying with Sephora as a permanent employee. I left the teaching job in Portland after just one school year. Ryan and I moved into an 800-sq-ft studio in the middle of downtown Portland and it was the best freaking almost-year, walking three miles every day and eating cupcakes all the time, walking to work, spending all of our waking hours being Us.

After only ten months, though, we bought a house and moved back to the midwest.

It’s incredible. It’s a small house, but it’s perfect for us. We adopted a border collie and he’s a daily delight. I have a grand piano in one of the spare bedrooms. We spend so much time with Ryan’s parents, and my parents are easy to visit on a weekend. I commuted 35 minutes to a Sephora, started teaching with my old piano studio again, quit Sephora after a year and a half here (almost 3 total) to instead accompany at a middle school. So now I have two jobs, and they’re both piano-related, and Ryan no longer works for Apple but for a small local business that actually cares about his work-life balance and mental wellbeing, and our lives are so much less stressful than they used to be.

And how could I update you on my life if I didn’t tell you that I am currently writing this from our nursery.

We took apart the office and painted it this weekend, built the crib late last night, brought all the rest of the furniture in this morning. Just counting down the less-than-100 days until our tiny baby is here. Ryan has been feeling movement for more than a month, but tonight for the first time he felt a real body part pushing against him, not just my body moving, and the look on his face is my favorite.

 

Life is so good. I hope it has treated all of you well, too.

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2018

It feels like home doesn’t it? I never could really get into writing at Prosebox. I’m glad to see you back as well!

January 29, 2018

@uncertaintragedy I don’t write as often on Prosebox as I used to here, but I honestly don’t think that’s the website’s fault. I think we’re just not young angsty teenagers with the emotions to work through anymore! But it does feel incredibly nostalgic to be back here. 🙂 🙂

January 29, 2018

@eucatastrophe That is very true, those dark days are long behind me but I always loved the art of writing—the idea of being able to record things. I did write in PB when I needed to. I have a lot I feel I could write here. It’s all a matter of time really and being able to do that.

January 28, 2018

Glad that life is going well for you, welcome back even if it is for a short time!

January 28, 2018

AWWWW! Congrats on your baby! I loved being pregnant!

January 28, 2018

Congratulations

February 4, 2018

<3

March 21, 2018

This will always be home; some strange, twisted, angst-ridden corner of the internet that held our hands through the teenage years. So glad to hear you’re doing well!

April 13, 2018

there is this large part of me that feels like all is right with the world again, coming back here. x